new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Draining
2002, May 6 - 2:44 a.m.

I went out for coffee at Tim Horton's today with Brent to see Annabelle, Catholic and interestingly enough, Hos. Hos brought her manfriend whom I accidently referred to as Drain. Things started out pleasantly enough, I tried to be very polite and friendly and socialable. She didn't take too well to it. Years of her incomprehensible and bizzarre behavior and the negative reactions to it has made her wary of of her former friends. She need not have been so catty, we were all together in good will and companionship.

She brought up that I had switched my career focus, though being a university student, she didn't quite understand that I didn't switch. College is set up differently and is less complicated when you change over. She thought I went through a massive change of plans when I really did not at all. My program was a foundation one year certificate program that could lead to other art fields. Nothing was definite in that course, it only could give you a better chance at Sheridan or elsewhere. One still had to apply and be accepted on the basis of their exceptional work. She though that it was all interconnected and I had to change over all my courses and other such things. Colleges have predetermined courses. Everything is picked out for you, with the exception of maybe one or two electives. The college knows what you will need to be good at your job. Hos picks out all of her courses, none of which can get her a job later. Greek philosophy I think. I would be interested in knowing what she plans on doing with that.

Most people know that you can't get a job with a university degree... with the exceptions to a few kinds of programs. for the most part it is all theory while college is practace. University will get you a higher paycheck combined with a college diploma, more so than just a college diploma but a university degree, for the majority of programs will get you nothing because it does not train you for jobs. What the heck does she think she can go into later with Greek philosophy?

What irked me was that she was derisive when she mentioned me going into journalism. It used to be her dream, you see. She said I would get tired of it and I wouldn't continue with it and other such unsupportive things. What did I say about her rediculous claim to fame? That's great Hos. It sounds like you will have a lot of fun. I'm sure you'll really enjoy yourself. I believed none of this, but that wasn't important. She was going to do it. She also wanted to take fine art at Queen's. That is the most pointless thing I have ever heard. The Queen's art program blows. I co-oped there in OAC and I was stupified by the crappiness of the artist's work. I will be interested to see how this plays out.

But back to journalism and her disdain for my professional writing ambitions, I have the feeling she was bitter. She gave up her life long dream and now I'm doing it. Plus when she was younger I bad mouthed her poetry. We were 13 and she showed me this tripe about a depressed rose that withered in darkness until the sun came out and brought out the rose in all people's souls or some other cliche like that. It was a poor structured, unflowing peice of trite and forced crap and I had no problem telling her that I hated it. I have never had a problem with saying I don't like a particular peice of poetry. Anyhow, she whined 5 years later that she quit writing for 3 years because of me and I couldn't help but feel I did the world a favour.

I remember when she wrote this one poem that my friends had dubbed 'puny rage.' It was about her dark soul oozing with black slime becoming a giant monster and destroying a forest by 'killing trees line by line.' I kid not. The problem with her writing is that it is so forced. She can't be too in tune with herself to be writing with such tedious cliches.

Anyhow, she did not seem happy with me and if I didn't know any better, I'd say she was rooting for me to fail.

Something else bothered me. Hos and Drain have been together for a while now. A little over a year I think. Now she has put him down rather horribly for not having a job up to her standards. She knew when she started dating him that he was not into bettering himself and he didn't go to college or anything. He makes electrodes for babies. They're some sort of medical thing, I think those suction cups you see that moniter a person's bio stats. He does it on an assembly line. Now I don't imagine it's stimulating, but it is important, and it's not like he doesn't have a job and making anything for babies is rather commendable if you ask me. When Brent asked Drain what he did for a living, Drain told him and Brent said 'neat.' Hos said, 'no, not neat.' How rude to say such a thing about her boyfriend, in public especially. I was really bothered. Poor Drain, no respect.

She also wanted to sit on a patio and drink. We joked that she couldn't take our company without the numbing sensation of alcohal. She also commented on how she didn't want to come and Drain didn't want to come and they forced themselves to be there at all. Not too tactful. I was really annoyed at the drinking proposition. Brent couldn't drink because he had to drive, Catholic also had to drive, I can't afford it and either Drain or Hos had to drive home so only Annabelle and either Hos or Drain could drink. It was a selfish idea.

The night ended shortly after Hos said that she feared the US would invade Canada if they thought we had terrorists. What a load of crap. They would toughen up the borders, not take us over. She went on about how they had plans to take over every country in the world if need be. Fine. But every country at once? Canada has friends. Russia would kick their ass back to the stone age. Hos thought that with the US's nuclear power they would be a threat to us. Yeah... sure. They would nuke us, destroying our rich natural resourses on which they are dependant then take us over when we are a pitiful useless land mass?? She really can be stupid. She has this idea that she knows how the world works. I don't pretend to know but I know this. Canada is in no danger of being taken over by the United States.

I'm reminded of a piece of our history. The US tried to invade Canada but we fought back, invaded Washington and burned their White House (Well it's white now, after they white washed it to cover the burn marks) all under the command of the lunatic, William Lyon McKenzie who was always drunk and believed his dog talked to him. It's kind of a funny story, really. We were only Upper Canada then.

But this has been long and I am indeed ready to go to bed. Just know that I had a trying evening.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25