new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Working Like a Dog
2002, May 9 - 8:50 p.m.

Everyone in this house seems to be unable to understand that I can't go online during the day. I'm waiting on a phone call for a job for the City. There is no voicemail here, only a basic answering machine that takes messages only when the phone is free. Until 4:00, I do my best to make sure that I can get the phone call or the answering machine can.

The problem is that everyone wants to use the phone and/or internet when they get home and get mad at me when I want to use it. Well, heck. What is more important during the day? Getting a job or going online? I only use an hour, roughly anyway. It could screw me over if I'm expecting a a call, but it certainly shouldn't put anybody out.

My dad is one of these people. He is very derisive to me lately. When he asks why I didn't call Caitlin during the day, I retorted that she was in school. and called her 2:30 and she wasn't home. He also didn't comment on the fact that I did make comprimises and used the phone a lot today to call my Aunt about the City job, Catholic about the plans, Ella about the plans and Brent about the job and the plans. what is the big deal about using the phone when people are home? He also got pissed because I used the phone in the living room. There is no phone jack in my room, the phone in the computer room does not work for outgoing calls. He got really bitchy with me because he didn't want to shift his ass over one couch cushion so I could be beside the phone.

He is really grating on me. I am seriously considering just not living with him next year and staying in Oakville. I'd already be paying rent and I could easily get a job there. I'd just have to pay for utilities and food. *sigh* sadly, I am saving money by living at home. That is why I don't know if I can do it for sure.

My brother was roofing here for my uncle John. He took Friday off of school and worked through the weekend and after school on Monday. He will be paid well for his efforts and is proud of himself. Dad wanted to 'borrow' all of his pay until Friday. Jamie, of course, said no. Why should he, as the child, have to pay for anything for the household? If he can pay for things for himself that should be enough. He is a minor afterall.

Anyhow, after Jamie said no and Dad finished giving him a guilt trip, Dad called Uncle John and tried to get him to give Jamie's pay over to him instead of Jamie. He said he would just pay Jamie back later. Ha! Uncle John said he wasn't going to do it unless he had explicit permission from Jamie and Dad was put out because he felt as Jamie's father he had a right to it.

He seems to think that being a person's father gives him innumerable rights to anything that his child is a part of. He also always takes the opinion that all fathers out there are in the right because they are fathers. Not because of any good point these men may have, but because they are fathers, or men for that matter. Even in a case involving domestic abuse, he felt that the children belong with the father even though the father has hit the mother in front of them. This was a movie based on a true story and he was all for the dad having rights because child abuse and domestic abuse weren't the same thing in his eyes. Child abuse is hazy to him anyway. He is usually of the opinion that a parent should punish thier children how they like and it is no one else's business.

But that was a rant that was besides the point. Dad came to Jamie and asked him if Uncle John had spoken to him about the money. Jamie said he had and the answer was no. Dad was full of insults and guilt trips but I stepped in, upon Jamie's earlier request that I don't let dad push him around, and said that Jamie was just a young boy and deserved to keep what he had earned for himself.

Dad said he needed new shoes. I was a little disgusted. He said he had no money for groceries and yet he felt he should borrow his son's hard earned money to buy himself some new shoes.

Dad went on to say that he would pay Jamie back on Friday and I said that his shoes could wait until Friday then as well. Dad said, well what if the guy he borrowed from didn't pay him back? Then were would he be? I replied, "Well, if the guy doesn't pay you back, where would Jamie be if he lent you the money? He would be the one who loses out and he shouldn't lose his money because you lent yours out." That shut him up for a bit.

I can't believe he would try and guilt Jamie into giving him his pay to buy himself shoes, especially when he said he wasn't even sure the guy would pay him back. It makes me so mad.

It's almost live slave labour. Jamie, work hard so that I may have new shoes and you may have blisters to remind yourself that I am a bad father. My dad doesn't seem to understand that he has financial limitations and can't always have what he wants. Bills and children come before new shoes and get this - $150 golf tournaments. And yet again, I can't wait to be back in school.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25