new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

A Man Servant
2002, August 10 - 11:02 p.m.

I think I am losing track of the days. If it weren't for this diary I don't think I would remember a blessed thing about this summer.

I have work to thank for the memory loss. It's as though when I'm there I just imagine myself away from it. It's amazing the things I think about when I'm making beds and scrubbing tubs. I think about past crushes I had when I was younger, past fights and reconciliations. I think up witty retorts to say to people who made me angry years ago. And then I snap to it and realize that my hands are working without my knowing it and a bed has been made while I was gone.

My hands are so rough now, and tired and achy. They are calloused and my wrists are becoming stronger and killing me with pain in the process. My feet are getting rough as well and callouses are building on my bis toes and they are shaping outward and they cause me pain when I wear shoes. Unless I'm running around at work, where I have learned to shut off my senses, I am in pain. My legs are stiff and sore and I have trouble bending my knees.

I am not a strong girl, I never have been. I'm rather petite. Short with small bones. No muscle. By the end of this, I'm going to be a super woman.

If I don't die first.

Being a maid is tough work. I have no idea why it's considered feminine work. It's physically challenging, it's much better suited to a man who is likely to be taller and stronger than most of the women who work there. I know that gender roles were established with the rise of agriculture and that women took to caring for children and the housework because they weren't stong enough to do all the farm work that a man can do. It was sensible. But now... doing the housework is some of the hard work. And we're still doing all of it! What I wouldn't give to have a man working in there. Apparently there once was and it was the happiest time of the housekeepers lives. He did all the heavy stuff that our bodies were not built to do but we are focred to do anyways because that's what the damn Days Inn tells us to do.

Perhaps I don't sound like a feminist by some people's standards. I think I do. It's about pulling our weight equally and when it comes to physical labour, men have more weight to pull! When it comes to reproducing, that's our time to do all the hard work. It's life. Men were given more strength for a reason. It's the evolutionary choice that nature and God have made.

Why wont they realise this and join the housekeeping staff and give my hands and feet a break?

Because somewhere under the dirt and grime and lifting and running and sweating and pushing and lugging, it's just not masculine.

Where this rant came from I don't know. I just know I am not meant for this.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25