new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Lessons in Packing
2002, August 22 - 7:26 p.m.

And then there were only fours days of work left to go. I'm so happy I could cry. The Days Inn can kiss my bum.

So right now I'm waiting on a phone call from Rock Star. She is trying to organize tonight's drinking fest to celebrate Matt's return from B.C. It isn't going too well. I would really like to go but with the sketchy details and the fact I must work tomorrow... it isn't looking likely.

There are so many people I want to see before I go but I have so little time and oppurtunity. I saw Catholic, Ella and Annabelle off. I need to see Rock Star and Caitlin still, and my dad keeps bugging me to have a dinner at his place (which I don't want to do) and finally I want to see Poppie one more time before school but it isn't looking likely. *sigh*

Moving really sucks, though at least this time I get to leave more things behind. Last time my dad was making me pack up every blessed thing and half of the stuff went unused. This time things will be different. The useless but sentimental crap I can't bear to throw away will remain here, some furniture I have no room for will remain here, some clothes I know I wont be wearing will remain here. This time moving will be organized.

Last time I had my candle collection, my old diaries, every book I owned, half my stuffed animals and many clothes which were never worn because they had no business being in Oakville in the first place. I can give moving advice, oh yess I can.

1. Don't get too sentimental. You can live without a complete set of every single collection you own (candles, buttons, figurines, insects, comics, movies etc.) I have an anime tape collection and that is the one collection I have chosen to take. I am leaving behind figures, manga, plushies etc...

2. stuffed animals are bulky. Take one or two big ones or a handfull of small ones that mean a lot to you and for God's sake leave the rest. Let it be something nice to come home to.

3. Don't bring all of your summer clothes, just a select handful that you know you'll want to wear for the last of the hot days of fall and the few and far between warmer days of April.

4. Don't bring every photo album, diary or notebook you've every owned. Bring a handful of pictures for homesick reasons, one personal notebook that you know you'll be scribbling in and leave all personal diaries and whatnot, except for anything current, behind. Have faith that they will be left alone.

5. Pack winter stuff that you are completely not using first then go from there, in the end leave yourself a week's worth of clothes to get by until the big day comes. Choose the outfits you will keep wearing and then plan the bras and underwear you will need to have for those outfits. Pack the rest.

6. Give to Goodwill and get out the garbage bags. This should actually be your first order of business. Rummage through all your stuff and toss out the garbage and pile the junk (it's junk if you don't use, wont use it and are ambivilant to the said object.) You will have a better idea of what you are taking, what you really own, what should stay and what you are working with on a whole. Plus it's easier on the 'ol parents if you aren't leaving a bunch of crap in your room. Easier on you too for when you come home on the holidays and especially when you move back in and don't have to go through mounds of garbage to put your stuff back. I can't stress this enough. Throw things out!

And that is today's lesson on how to pack for college. I love sharing my learned wisdom. kyahahahaha

1 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25