new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

The Dining Room
2002, October 26 - 3:14 p.m.

It's Hos' birthday today. She is one fo the few people whose birthday I don't even need to try to remember. I've known it for a decade. I suppose I should send her a card.

How does everyone like my new trading card? I think it's a cool idea. I tweaked mine around forever. I'm such a dork that way.

Aunt Debbie is taking me out to lunch/dinner. I'm looking forward to it, I haven't seen her in months. Not since she moved me up to Oakville. Too bad I don't have any good news about my house. She did her best to be optomisitic about the whole thing. I know it would be easier to stay put in that shit hole, but it would be so expensive and frustrating! But anyhow...

I'll mention the furniture that's in storage. I want the dining room set including the hutch. Jamie can have everything else: the kitchen set, coffee table, end table, tv, vcr, tv stand, and whatever else is in there. I'm afraid he'll make a fuss. We agreed to these terms 3 years ago, but he may have changed his mind. Not that I care, I will have those things.

Mom would want me to have them over Jamie too. Jamie was her little boy, her baby and in most ways, her favorite. I was her daughter, her oldest, her dependable one. She took great pains to take care of the dining room set and I would be the one out of the two of us to take the best care of it now. He knows it and mom knew it. Besides, a dining room set and hutch are more feminine things. They're for entertaining. The other things are more functional and would serve Jamie better. The coffee table & end table are beautiful and need to be cared for too, but I'll let those go in the name of having the dining room set.

Jamie is looking at it as a financial thing which is Dad's doing. It's not about the money. The dining room set means a lot to me. It's a sentimental issue. She loved that set and was so proud of it and I want to be the one to have it and be proud of it. Dad has been warping Jamie's mind to think this is about money. It's not about me not having to now buy a dining room set, it's about having mom's dining room set.

I hope this works out. I plan on taking it with me to Oakville when I move in with Brent next year. I'll likely also take as much as Jamie's stuff as I can so he wont have to pay for storage and I wont have to worry about a few peices of furniture to buy. By the time Jamie takes them back, I'll be able to afford to buy my own.

These are the hidden issues with a parent dying. What to do with the stuff. No one wants to be cheated, people all want everything. When there are minors, like in the case of Jamie and me 3 years ago, there was an issue of ownership with the house (minors can't own property) and furniture and whatnot. What sealed everything was that mom didn't want Dad to have any of it or wreck any of it. Thus the selling and the storing. Cripes... Well, there is still time yet. I just want to discuss some of this with my aunt.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25