new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

A Better Christmas
2002, December 25 - 10:48 p.m.

Christmas was nice this year. It was better than last year, by far. Last year was god-awful, what with Dad being an ass and whatnot. This year he still wasn't participating in Christmas at his sister's but he was in a good mood.

Christmas eve consisted of a few setbacks. One of which was the start time at Brent's place. The whole point was for him to see his older sister and her family. He wanted to give her kids presents and see them open them. Their grandparents on thier other side monopolized Christmas a bit by taking one of them and planned to keep her til 8 pm. That was the time we would have had to leave for aunt Debbie's. It got sorted out but then Brent's brother was an hour and a half late which almost put a ruin on things yet again.

The man isn't too punctual. Two Christmases ago, he was supposed to pick up Brent's younger sister at work and was five hours late. Her grandma had to go and get her. So we were all a bit concerned. No one was going to open presents until he got there. Brent was a tad aggitated.

Last year I was mortified by the presents they gave me but this year I was prepared and I gave them all something. I felt less bad about all the presents they gave me. They gave me candy, a book, a cookbook (that goes with Brent's new slow cooker), a lovely shirt and various cool stocking things.

Giving the kids presents was satisfying. I gave the twins clothes as I was pretty sure they already had a ton of toys. They seemed happy enough with them. Batman and superman shirts.

Aunt Debbie's was also fun. She gave me nice clothes. I can always count on her to give me nice things. I have recieved a lot of hell ugly things but never once from her. Brent and I gave her body shop stuff and bear slippers. She really got a big kick out of the slippers. I was so happy to see how pleased she was.

The other presents, to Aunt Anne-Marie and Uncle John went well. They liked them and Dad was happy with his running shoes. Jamie was happy with his Garfield books. There are few things more satisfying than knowing the presents you gave were well recieved.

The one thing that was unplesant was spending the night at Dad's. The upstairs people are almost as noisy as Stinky Pete and the air was smokey. It was hard to breathe it in and I got congested and barely slept a wink. Waking up was a groggy business.

But I must go. I have to work Boxing Day. It's time and a half which is awesome but I'll have to get up early. Boooo.

Merry Christmas!

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25