new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

The Deadly Air
2003, March 2 - 12:44 a.m.

I have a gripe. Smoking indoors. What an inconcievably rude thing to do. I don't care whose home it is, if you have a non-smoker over or you are visiting a non-smoker, who the hell treats their host or guest so poorly as to blow cancerous fumes in their face?

Even blowing it away does shit. The person, such as myself, leaves the house stinking and congested. Yes, I am allergic to cigarette smoke. That and dust. When I enter a house with both in high degrees I wind up in the condition I am in now, which is sneezy, headachy and stuck with a runny, plugged nose.

I walked into Dad's house fine and well. I got blasted with bad air when I walked in but no matter, I was there the day before to take Jerry to the vet, I figured I'd be fine. Then Jamie lights a cigarette. Then my nose started to itch and my eyes started to water and even when I asked him to put it out before my day is shot he shruged me off.

What sort of person imposes my allergies on me? It was completely avoidable. I would have been gone in an hour. He couldn't wait an hour? He couldn't go outside? Just once? It just pisses me off. I made a conscious decision not to put that shit in my body and he and so many other smokers out there, like my dad as well, think they have the right to take that away from me.

I didn't even want to go over there because I knew that odds were, I'd wind up feeling like this but oh no. I had to go. I was obligated to say bye to those two. I'm not making that mistake again. They can come say good bye to me next time and take their filthy habit outside if they can't control their urges.

Why the hell does anyone start? Really? I don't get it. I've heard stress relief but that's a load of shit. I fail to see how giving yourself and others cancer relieves anything. It certainly doesn't relieve financial stress, health related stress or relationship stress, unless you're dating a smoker who can't smell your stink.

I usually don't let this opinion out too often, as I know smokers but to hell with it. They should know better. Anyone who actively chooses to smoke in this day and age should know better. And with all the anti-smoking bi-laws coming into effect, where is the incentive? I know a lot of stupid 14 year olds out there think it's cool (not that I'm saying all 14 year olds are stupid, but stupid is is stupid does) but I know people like Hos who started at 17 years old. 17! What the hell is that? Rock Star started at 16 but much to my relief she came to her senses and quit..

If only my brother would quit. He has my dad's example to look at. He's missing teeth, his skin is old and leathery, he's always sick. What a standard of healthy living to aspire to.

I've just about had it with smoking and I relish the day I have my own place and can tell people to take it outside, I don't want that shit in my air.

2 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25