new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

A Stinky Cab
2003, March 26 - 11:12 a.m.

I really like foreign films. I like them a lot. Not when they're dubbed however, but when they're subtitled. This past Monday I went to the Oakville film festival screening of 'The Last Kiss.' It was an Italian film and it was so good.

God, that Monday was a tad hectic though... For starters, when I asked people, where is Silvercity Theatre? Everyone replied, it's right by Square One. So Brent hears this, and since he got a bulky tax return, he wants some clothes. I don't want to go with him because I can't afford to buy new clothes yet. I tell him that if I dragged him clothes shopping for me when he had no money, he would be pissed off. So we agreed, though grudgingly that he would meet me at the Theatre at 6:30. No later than that because I was covering the film festival for the paper and I needed to be punctual and professional.

I also warn him that if it's the wrong theatre then I will be leaving promptly at 6:30 to go to the right theatre, with or without him.

So it wound up being the wrong theatre, of course and I waited there for 6:30 to come and hoped to God he would make it.

Now he did make it and the cab came at 6:30 and we were on our way across town in the beastliest, stinkiest cab this side of the equator. This guy stunk top high heaven and not only that, he gave us the run around and took a longer route than I think he needed to. It was a $20 cab ride.

So we get inside and they give me one ticket. One. Now, when you send a press release to a paper and you want your story covered, you provide tickets - for free. That in itself was difficult enough, the PR lady put up a fight. But one ticket?

So I asked for two, as I was under the impression that I had two tickets coming to me. I got them, but with a, "We can't do this next time!"

Cripes, how rude is it to ask for coverage and make us pay besides?

But after that, the night ran smoothly. Brent had also given me a present. A cute bracelet. I think it's white gold. I love getting jewlery.

The only other kick in the teeth was when we saw how close we were to home from Silvercity. We likely could have taken a bus there. It was bordering Oakville. *sigh*

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25