new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

The Other Options
2003, April 30 - 2:18 a.m.

I have given up on DuPont. I have yet again fallen into the trap of counting my chickens before they are hatched. I handed out resumes today to 3 different hotels: the Holday Inn, Howard Johson and the Four Points Sheraton. I applied for housekeeping and catering.

I got an immediate interview at the Howard Johnson so that seemed promising.

I didn't find out two very important things about the jobs however. One, how much does it pay? And two, how many rooms on average do the maids do a day? At the Days Inn it was 15-17 with one half hour lunch break which a few girls did without in order to get the rooms done on time. We were supposed to be able to do each room in 22 minutes. Each double bed room took me a half hour and each single bed room took me 25 minutes. If the rooms were heavily soiled it took longer and if they were barely used it took me 15-20 minutes.

Rock Star used to work at the Comfort Inn and she got around 10 rooms a day there with more breaks. Methinks that the Days Inn could be a tad on the cheap side with their labour.

There were never enough linens, and I heard we were understaffed by about 8 people. Some girls went 13 days without a day off.

Plus I have realized that when a family stays at an economy hotel, they don't like to tip. As if the housekeepers don't work as hard there as they do at more expensive hotels.

But at a place like the Sheraton, I imagine there would be more tips and more linens to work with. Running back to rooms to replace linens I didn't have earlier took up a lot of time.

Sigh... I just want a job that doesn't stress me out with insignificant details like the Days Inn did. Is that so much to ask?

1 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25