new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

A day in Hades
2003, May 19 - 11:55 p.m.

What a gruelling day at work I had today. It was the worst day yet.

To start with it was the long weekend. Victoria Day weekend is usually fun for Brent and I. It's a special anniversary. But we celebrated that and it was off to the working world again.

But since it was the long weekend, everyone wanted to sleep in and check out late. That means a delayed start for me. Plus there was no one staying another night. All checkouts they were. That is extra work.

I have to knock on a few doors to see if anyone has left. I wound up accidently waking this one big shirtless guy up in room 301.

"Oh, I'm so sorry, did I wake you?"

"Yes, you did actually."

Thinks I: And it was my evil intention to wake you up. I'm just a mean spirited person. Ass-hole

Says I: "I'm so sorry!"

Eventually rooms clear out.

So I start on a couple rooms, about 10 minutes later than planned. I have about 4.75 rooms finished for lunch and that means I'm in pretty good shape. I'm even feeling good.

My supervisor tells me I need to do the Jacuzzi suites first because they're bigger and longer to do and I need to get them out of the way. Fine by me.

That is, it was until I came across room 301. Lord Tunderin' Jesus!

He had this massive party. There are about 20 glasses in the room, a coffee maker, hide-a-bed, king sized bed, large jacuzzi, shower... plus all the ameneties. Everything was used, everything was dirty. There were dirty glasses all over the room, plus alcohal, cans, room service trays, newspapers, chips, spills. It takes me about 30-40 minutes to clean a large room. This took 75 minutes. I got a $6 tip, but it was hardly worth the hell I went through with this room.

The next suite was smaller but it was still hell. A family had spent the night and there weas a cot, food, as well as milk cartons and garbage everywhere. A thick coat of goo covered the interior walls of the mini fridge.

50 minutes.

So I'm pretty behind by this time. Nearing an hour behind everyone else. Plus two more cots come my way, excessive amount of pillows and blankets; I go through 3 garbage bags, when normally I only go through 1.

I skip my afternoon break, though I desperately need to rest. I have 3 hours to complete 8 very dirty rooms. I know I won't make it.

I've run out of towels and sheets twice already and have to stop to go for more. I have to go back once for toilet paper, soap, and sewing kits.

My two supervisors who have seen the messes jump into action to save my ass from the hades that are these rooms and make my beds and clear my garbage out. By the time I complete all of my rooms, I'm a half hour late for quitting time.

So I have to re-stock my cart and the pantry. The other girl on my floor is a little ahead of me. She grabs a few linens for her own cart, blocks the doorway to the pantry and doesn't help me when my garbage bag breaks open on me and spills into the hallway.

I had to throw my laundry across the hall, in three steps to get around her, thus taking even more time to finish. Picking up garbage with bare hands is no picnic either.

So I finally get to the main office to re-stock my coffees and soaps and whatnot, after seeing Brent sitting in the car waiting for me. My supervisor tells me, I don't mean to rush you, I know you've had a rough day but go as fast as you can. You're an hour past quitting time.

I finished at 5:12.

And I have split my right hand ring finger. It hurts to put pressure on it.

I have three days off now. Oh, God how I've earned them.

1 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25