new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Clothes Horse
2003, July 25 - 12:39 p.m.

I went on a shopping spree yesterday. Spreeeee!

I went nuts more or less. I bought some kick ass skirts with plaid and pleats! I love pleats, I really do. I love kilts as well - which have pleats. So I have these sort of bad ass kilts from hell. They both have cool buckles to the one side and hang more on my hips than snug in the waist like a proper kilt, which is nice. I wore the waist hugger catholic school kilt for five years. My new kilt-esque skirts need not do the same.

I also got two pinstripped pants, one in black another in a beigey colour. I got an asian inspired tank top, a black top with a fake dress shirt collar and wrist cuffs and a pair of khakis. I also got a new bag for school and a purse. Oh, how I spent! And this was after I paid off my credit card!

When I go on sprees, I like to have a clean slate on my credit card.

But this was all much needed. I was only getting from Monday to Monday in the clothes I had. They'll all wear out by Christmas if I keep re-wearing them in such quick succession.

Thus I justify my shopping spree. I need to have more clothes though, my wardrobe is a pitance. Last year I was the grunge queen of stained, ripped ugliness and this year I plan on looking presentable. No, not presentable, good! I plan on looking good!

I still need shoes.

I have never really had a lot of clothes, and this is mainly due to living with a single mother who was recieving somewhere along the line of $12 a month in child support.

In grade seven, I remember having one shirt for each day of the week and half of them were hand me downs. In grade eight, It was more or less the same, only none were hand me downs and I had a couple more tops. In grade nine I had a wave of relief because catholic high schools have uniforms.

Anyone can say what they like about going to a catholic school but I would choose it over a public school any day of the week. Everyone dresses the same. Individuality my ass. How much of a crying relief is it to wake up and not worry about clothes? Hmm... kilt or grey dress pants? Short sleeved white dress shirt or long sleeved white dress shirt? Blue knee socks or green?

College was a sad burst into the clothes stream again. All of my clothes were old and tattered. My new things were hardly new and I thought, well hell. This is art fundamentals! I'll just ruin new clothes anyway, so why not just go on wearing this crap? And it worked out quite well.

At then end of the year, all of my stuff was stained even further with art supply stuff and worn even worse from constant washing and it didn't matter because it was old.

Then I stupidly didn't buy hardly a stich over the summer and went into journalism with that garbage. I cringe now at how poor and tattered I must have looked. I like to look nice, I like to seem upkept and self respecting.

This year will be different. For the first time in my life, I will look spectacular! I'll bet my new clothes on it.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25