new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Abstraction
2002, January 9 - 2:24 p.m.

I'm feeling much better now.

So I had my Imaging Systems and 2D Design class today. The assignments are so much mjore creative. No more exercises! We're getting into the real stuff now. Frank (IS instructor) is going to teach us how to effectively use our media of choice and how to correctly use it in combination with other media. I can't wait to learn! In 2D we'll have 4 big assignments rather than 10 small and medium ones. The first will be learning how to develop idea about nature into a more abstract, original piece or work.

Most people who know me know that I'm not a big fan of abstraction, but this is fine with me. There is a creative process involved, taking information from real life and nature and then developing ideas about it to create an interesting design. What I have a problem with is people who slop paint and the like around and then call it art. What I'm learning to do is art; art takes time, patience, research and the drive to do all of these things to make the said artwork in question. If it didn't require these things, anyone and everyone could do it and it wouldn't be special.

But, I'm very pleased with the way this semester is looking. The first semester was rather brutal; so very many practice pieces...

I editted a review I made a while ago. The owner of Diary Reviews thought the comments on content was too harsh. I didn't think I was too far off but it is her site and I changed it around a bit to make it less harsh than before. I had originally said there was little real content. That part is very true... The whole diary left a bad taste in my mouth and I let my negative feelings on the matter find thier way into my review. I will be more careful not to do that again in the future.

I should get started on my 2D design homework. I want to stay on top of things better this semester.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25