new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Plaster Caster
2002, January 18 - 7:11 p.m.

Today was interesting. In 3D Design we started a surrealist unit. We're making surrealist sculptures of our body parts. that is, we're using plaster to cast our hands, feet, face...etc. One guy did his ass, another girl is doing her breasts ^_^;; I'm not that brave.

I chose my foot. Now, I hate feet, but the idea I came up with required my foot. I'm making a stairway in my foot and turning it into a home from one angle, a tree from another.

So Steph was elected to do my foot, as Brandy was too squeimish to touch my feet and Lindsay didn't know how to do it because she missed the last class. I should say this now, my feet are insanely ticklish. Steph did what she could to not provoke this but nonetheless I was squealing like a little pig once she reached the bottom. Meanwhile I was casting Brandy's hand. She decided on this bizzarre pose that was incredibly hard to hold. She had her fingers in a vulcan like pose only twisted a bit. Oy. I did what I could. It was rather hard too, I was stilling on a stool with my foot on another stool with my torso twisted around to face the table to reach out to Brandy's hand. Owie. I'm glad it's over anyhow...

The results were rather pleasing, my foot looked wonderful and Brandy's hand looked quite good, if I do say so myself. Brandy and I took turns on Steph's hand. I did the top and by the time that was done, my cast was ready to come off.

A few details about this... you put loads of vasiline on whatever body part you're casting. My foot was greasy, greasy, greasy. This contributed to an easy extraction of plaster, but...ew! It was really yucky. I hopped to the bathroom on one foot to wipe and cleanse my foot. Poor thing. My foot was also very, very cold. Cold and clamy. Oh, yeah.

An interesting thing about this whole thing is that everyone came by to see my foot. People don't usually pay much attention to me or the art I'm doing. I felt really good. I didn't feel too great when two guys from class tried to tickle my foot in my vulnerability, but I like feeling accepted.

I have recently had a hot, hot bath and now I just want to relax. I bought Lord of the Rings today so I'll have something to read. Not for tonight though, I'm going to Brent's. We'll eat pizza and drink daquiris.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25