new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Public Diaries
2002, January 22 - 12:10 p.m.

I really want to be Interviewed. It would seem that they are interviewing people that applied in October. I applied in October/November...or was it early December? I don't know. A long time ago. They're so busy...

I have quite a bit of work ahead of me ^_^;; 2D and Imaging Systems respectively. Cripes, I wish I could get ahead, but I'm such a procrastinator... :(

Day one of lose five pounds went off quite well. I ate a toasted bagel and ate two cookies, rather then eat 5 cookies and no bagel. Like I said, I'm trimming down, not going nuts. Tonight I will start the sit ups. It's not just a matter of appearance, it's a matter of health. If I can't keep a healthy body now, what will become of me in 10 years? Oy.

I like having a public diary. I have an itch to start another one. Something more interactive that involves giving people publicity. Diary reviewing has been done to death ( a few diary reviewing sites is fine, 10+ is excesive and no longer original), Interviewing is becoming that way too. Interview is obviously the most popular out of all the interviewing diaries, but then there is one-on-one, and Cross Examine. Cross Examine, though is original in it's own right because the whole thing is plain silly.

Public diaries like Unsent and A secret and my own, Fishheads and Flowers are nice but they don't cater to the mass diaryland population of attention whores (which we all are, really.) They're nice for venting, but really they want something with their diary linked with information about it that is all really a part of a big popularity contest. Whose diary is nicer, with better writing, with funnier stories. Who has the best layout and most interesting life? Now the question is...how does one make a site that will cater to that, still be original and still be interesting?

Diary Reviews did it. It was original, it was fun, it made people feel special and it got them hits. Its still the most popular diary reviewing site. 68,000+ hits. Impressive. Interview did it too. Original, very in depth and more selective than diary reviewing. More elite too, because over a hundered people are waiting to be interviewed. The hits those people get, who are lucky enough to get one, must be phenominal. Quoted is a diary legend. It is the most elite, as you don't apply, you just write as well as you can and hope someone will notice. There are two rings started by other people for those who have been quoted or haven't been.

So with that all in mind. What is a good idea? I have narrowed it down this far...something that will give people hits (providing the site becomes popular), something that allows people to exhibit themselves in someway, something that doesn't involve reviewing, interviewing or quoting, and something that may possibly involve picking and choosing.

I will give this some serious thought. Maybe I could pair up with someone and co-run a site. Really good ideas tend to take more work then regular good ideas. The person who runs 'unsent' must be laughing. Tons of hits and entries and little-to no matinence because people do the content themselves. The poor Interviews people. Undoubtably they have it the worst, though arguably, it's worth it. 17,000+ hits since just October, '01.

*hmmm* I'll be putting on my thinking cap this week.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25