new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

My Dragon
2002, February 8 - 11:05 a.m.

I just got back from a brutal Ideas and Images class. The teacher went on and on about Einstein. Now the point of his lectures is to inspire us. Let me tell you that none of us felt inspired at all. Facts and science with no room for the imagination is not appealing to the creative mind. The scientific mind, yes, but we're not scientists. Argh. On the bright side of this, class is cancelled next week to give us time to work on our big piece. It's supposed to be a culmination of what we have drawn so far because what we have drawn so far is our ideas. I know what I'm going to do; which is good because I have to go first. Damn my last name.

I am doing a work on the irrelevance of science vs religion. They are the same thing. The beginning of life cannot be explained without a spiritual force and if a higher being made the world then science is the study of that higher beings genious in his or her masterpeice, that being earth. Science and religion are thus intertwined. Having one without the other is a highly blind way to look at the world. Neither one on its own can explain or comprehend this world. They are to me, brother and sister.

In my piece I'm am also going to touch on a topic that has greatly irritated me since the beginning of class. Everyone has represented religion with a cross. There are so many religions out there and they choose a cross everytime. They also only bad mouth the catholic church. It was really beginning to grate on me. All major religions have their problems, all have made/are making mistakes. On the flip side, they are all fundamentally decent. They all share the cardinal rule, though worded differently for each case. Treat others as you want to be treated. Basically, be a good person. They all act in a way that they feel is right and just, they aren't trying to hurt anyone. All of them have, but they are always evolving and learning themselves. Yes, organized religion deserves some criticism, but they also deserve some praise as well.

So my work will be from my own religious perspective. God was the spark that made the world, he chose evolution as his tool of trade. He has eternity to watch the earth change so why wouldn't he make it a slow process? He has time. So as certain mammels finally reach the point of intelligence, which was what he had envisioned, he gives them some simple rules to live by: 10 commandments. People start to discover the true nature of the world, the science of life; everything fits so well together and falls into place. This world is very organized in it's way that it opperates. (In my opinion God is an artist and a scientist. He did a great job.) Science begins to battle religion.

Where my art comes in is the middle ground. It will show that if God made the world, and all that's in it and he arranged everything to fit into a puzzle, then God is the master of science, which combines religion and science into one solid belief.

Is this catholic? Not exactly. But it takes some principles from catholism. It is the belief system I have developed for myself for quite some time. I still identify myself as catholic, but I've alterred my belief structure just so, as to suit me.

I don't know how my class will take this, as most of them are fairly anti-christian, but this is my dragon to sell. They may not see my dragon, they may not believe in my dragon, I may not be able to prove my dragon exists, but it's mine and all I want is for them to acknowlegde that my dragon exists for me. And that if it exists for someone then perhaps it has some merit.

I'd explain where I got the dragon metaphor, but I don't have the energy and it's more fun for me to leave it as that.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25