new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Perfect Kind of Life
2002, April 14 - 2:19 a.m.

I went to East Side's with Brent today and didn't get carded when I ordered a drink. I felt old. I'm only 19, which means I can drink but I look like I'm 16 or 17, really. See? Actually... I was 17 when that was taken. I haven't changed much though, believe me: A different haircut and a more tired looking face and I keep my eyes open most of the time. But otherwise I still look like a youngin', An underage youngin' at that. That picture was taken on the way to Anime North, '00. I was Selphie that year. She's a character from final Fantasy 8. But I digress. Back to East Side's.

There were some underagers who came in and got carded. I certainly would have carded them if I had been that bartender and I'm surprised that they were of age. Or maybe they just had really good IDs. I don't know. I think they came in and asked if they could order drinks - first sign they were underage. People who are legally allowed to drink don't ask if they can order drinks, they just do it. What would they expect the bartender to say? No? Secondly, the clothes were a dead give away. Fubu, baseball caps, heavy makeup (covering acne), tightly pulled back hair with silver slips. All trade marks of high school students. Not that all high school students wear these things, but no one else does, save people even younger. Plus they were all nervous about ordering and didn't know what they wanted or could have. They fidgetted a lot and lordy did they ever look young. Really young, like 15 or 16 years old. It was impossible to believe that any of them were old enough.

I suppose I found it amusing (now that I'm on the other side) to see kids trying to get alcohol. I don't know why they'd try East Side Mario's though. Then again, Oakville doesn't have any clubs. That makes me homesick for K-town: Good shopping (better than Oakville anyway and when I'm in school I can't afford things in Toronto), fun places to go to like AJ's and patios along Ontario Street. There are plenty of interesting restaurants I haven't tried yet, plus it a great place to walk through, very scenic. Nice movie theatres and a relatively short distance to Picton beach. There's Lake Ontario Park and a nice golf course or two (if you like that sort of thing) and a bus system I can rely on (unlike here.) To top it off... I should have a job when I get back. No more working through the night on assignments. When I'm done work in the early evening, I'm done for the day. Plus I'll get paid. Nine days from now, my life is going to be pretty sweet.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25