new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Travel the World and the Seven Seas
2002, April 27 - 1:25 a.m.

This is my 284th entry. Most people only dream about 284 entries. I make them a reality. Oh yes.

Is everyone aware that there are only 3 days left until Shelters of Stone comes out? Does anyone care? Oh, I love it so and it will be mine. You see, Earth's Children is about prehistoric earth. Goddess/mother worship. Hunting and ceremonies. Language barriers and journeys across what is now, Europe. And most imortantly, an intriguing fictional look at at the intereaction between modern day man in it's earliest form 100,000 years ago during the ice and the last of the neandrathols (sp?). The culture, the detail, the mystery!

In 3 days my life will be more complete than it has ever been before.

But in other news, Brent and I want to go camping. He wants to go with friends. That could be fun. I could find out who wants to go and rally up a fun group of people. Of course this wouldn't be until June or July. But it gives me something to look forward to.

I have this dream... I want to go backpacking through Europe. I've had this dream since I was 13. I had always imagined going around this time in my life; after high school and before I start a career. I want to go to Scotland and Ireland (my roots), Greece, Italy, Spain and France. I want to go for any amount of time from 2 weeks to a month. I have my inheritance and after I'm done school I can't imagine a more fulfilling way to spend it. Mom would approve. She herself went on a European trip in her youth.

Brent wants to go with me. However he can't afford to go any time in the near future of a few years. I think he sees us getting married. He has said to me a few times that his sister and her husband are going to Germany now. They have jobs and three kids. That is the worst time to plan for anything. I shouldn't go in my youth? I want to fulfill this dream before I get tied into a job and a family. I don't want to take this trip to escape my life, I want to have it to start my life.

I fully believe that I wont be satisfied to live until I go through europe. I've never been outside of Canada; not really. I want to see buildings that are centuries older than I am. I want to see people who have never lived a life like I have. I want to see remains of old cutures and really know for the first time that life is not just here.

Brent has been to the States and Mexico. He has a bit of that. I have a serious itch to travel. I really resented when he brought up his sister, as though what she is doing is best for me. Like somehow I must wait until I am sattled with reality until I go anywhere... however, she has already been to Germany and Costa Rica at that.

I want to have a learning experience that only travel can give me. I want to take myself through Europe and come back a more experienced person for having done so. The way I figure, I have 2 years left to do it; then it's no longer the dream. It's a vaccation from the daily grind.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25