new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Keeper of the Jendra
2002, May 13 - 3:01 p.m.

...continued-

My dad comes home around 10:30-11:30 on Saturday night, I'm not sure when and is rather drunk from his golf tournament. He took a taxi home, that was the first clue. He was slurring some of his words and repeating questions and was highly suseptable to irritation. He was also demanding of Brent. He fully expected him to drive him down to Mama Mia's Pizza to pick up a pizza sub. He is broke and owes me money and he is going to buy a pizza sub when there is food at home. I told Dad that Brent was visiting me and I didn't want to leave. I told him I thought a brisk walk would do him good. It's about 20 minutes to walk there, you see.

He begun to get mad and said that I couldn't decide for Brent, when really, he should understand that I am saying what Brent felt was inappropriate to say as a non family member. He went on slurring about how I lost 'it' whatever 'it' was and he went on about how the hospital didn't know who they were dealing with. When I was in emergency, he called and wanted to know how I was and what I had. Because I am over 18 they were not allowed to release the information. It's provincial law. He said that as the head pressman at Queen's, he should have the right to ask. I see not where this makes any sense. I don't know where he got the idea he is above provincial law, but it really angered Brent and I though, once again Brent held his toungue. Wise. My dad is unpredictable at times.

I was watching Sex and the City and my dad started saying it was smut and I couldn't watch it and that it wouldn't be on at his house. I didn't care much, it's on at Aunt Ann Marie's and I will watch it to my hearts content. He actually went over and turned off the TV and told me it would stay off. As though I were a 12 year old child who was watching something too mature, as if I needed some sort of dicipline, when according to the law, I am just as much as an adult as he is. As if it were his house. I turned it back on and he started being verbally abusive and getting really out of line, in front of Brent... that was the kicker. I couldn't believe that he couldn't control himself in front of company. He then asked Brent if he was uncomfortable yet and was all smug that he was.

I started crying and I left to my room and Brent followed me and gave me hugs. We stayed there for around five minutes and my dad came back and told Brent to get out of my room. I was appalled for the same reasons he turned of the TV. Who did he think he was and how old does he think I am? We stayed in there and I packed up a bag to take to Brent's. Dad kept yelling out for Brent to get out and eventually began to physically make his way through and stormed at him. I don't think he touched him but he was moving at him in a way that said he very well would. He stormed at him down the hall and Yelled at him, "don't you ever stand up to me!"

Aunt Ann Marie came out and I was crying and asked her to stop him. Uncle John came out and told dad that I am a young woman and he shouldn't be that way with me and that it was the booze talking. I was mortifed that my dad caused everyone such probelms but I was thankful for their presence. For once I felt vindicated when I complained of my Dad's temper.

Aunt Ann Marie tried to get him away from Brent and I told her I was leaving with him and she was concerned that it would be uncomfortable for me. I told her Brent had often come to get me to get away from Dad and this was nothing new. I left with Brent and have been here since Saturday. It's Monday afternoon now. I'm going home shortly and I'm a little apprehensive.

As for Brent, he hates my dad now. He doesn't know if he can ever look at him again. I don't blame him. Too bad I'm stuck with him.

And me... well, I'm mad that he had the rudeness to yell at me when I just came back from the hospital and the day before Mother's Day. Not like that would be a hard day for me or anything.

What was nice is the talks Brent and I had. On the way here, and at night. We talked until 4 am both nights. He has taken care of me and brought me food and lots of liquids.

We've even talked about the future. But that's a whole different state of affairs. As it is though, if it weren't for Brent, I'd be one miserable kidney stone patient.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25