new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Cost of Living
2002, June 19 - 1:59 a.m.

Mike was good to me today and got off before 2 am so I could maybe get in an hour and a half before I lay myself down to sleep.

It turns out that I am doing yet another split shift tomorrow. I hate split shifts because for two hours I have to sit in a mall and tell myself I cannot afford to spend money. That's going to be hard to do because I got a look at this weeks paycheck and I want to spend, spend, spend. Terrible... though I know this is good for me. It will build character. Yes... something like that.

Which brings me to my father and a discussion I had about him with with my aunt Anne-Marie. We went through his entire paycheck and the money he recieves from other sources each month. After sorting out his liabilities and imediate needs, we came to the conclusion he had a thousand a month more or less, to pay off bills and entertain himself each month. Our plan is to sit him down and show him this budget he needs to set for himself. Perhaps if he sees it in black and white he can make his situation work.

Sometimes I just don't get him.Yes he's an alcohalic, but I refuse to see it as some sort of disability. For christ's sweet sake, why is beer so important? I enjoy drinking on occasion. I drink perhaps once a month. He drinks every day. He already smokes over $200 worth of cigarettes which he cannot, truthfully, afford to smoke. And when you tally up a bare minimum for him of $10 a day on beer it comes to $300. $300 is really rounding it down because I know he drinks more than that. That about half of the thousand. Now he needs to repair his truck... where is the money for that? Well heck, he had ordered 5 pizzas this month because he didn't feel like cooking and took 3-4 different cab rides home when he was too drunk to drive and then 3-4 other cab rides to get back to his truck. He also just throws Jamie money any old time rather than set a limit such as a sort of allowance.

It's as though he no idea of how much things really cost. He always told me I didn't know. Well, I'm not the one who practically has to file for brankrupcy, now am I?

I think I'll get started on this budget plan.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25