new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Boxes
2002, July 6 - 3:54 p.m.

Last night I went through many boxes of things that had been packed away for months. I needed to go through all of them because I had to decided what was junk and what was worth keeping. I came up with 3 boxes of things to give away and a garbage bag and a half of things to throw out. I am keeping about 5 boxes out of 9 worth of memories.

Having moved so often in the past few years (4 times since I was 16) I have been forced to keep only what I treasure most. That list keeps getting shorter. I suppose that is a good thing. I'm not getting sentimental about old junk.

What did amaze me was that there was so much utter garbage around. For instance an entire box was filled with old childhood valentines and christmas cards and homemade holiday decorations from when I was 5. What sort of a sap would I be if I held on to these things? I don't remember being five, not really.

There was also binders full of old biology homework and chemestry notes. Why on Earth would I keep these things? An old caligraphy learning pack, an old art kit I rarely used, a pillow I made in grade 9, rceipts, high school diploma... oh, I guess I ought to keep that, though it was funny it was in the same box as the afore mentioned things.

My stuff is being whittled down to the most essentials. Right now no one can acuse me of being a pack rat.

Though I found my old diary. It marked grade 7 - mid grade 9. I am curious to know where I put my other diaries. I have paper diaries from the beginning fo grade 10 to the end of grade 11.

I found old poetry I wrote, most of which is foolish, but all the same has some sentimental value to me. I wrote a bit on leaving my life long home and reading the poems brought me back a bit.

I came across my anime costumes, my grade 8 graduation dress, my formal dress, my semi-formal dress and my mother's wedding dress. Certainly a very important box.

I found old bears and rag dolls that I mean to give to my own children some day. I found my series of drawings about 5 girls whom I created. Anime styled in look and story. One whole section is missing but regardless, I'm happy to have it back. It's especially nice to see how my drawings have evolved over time.

I found old pictures of friends I used to have when I was younger, old cassette tapes, framed photos, award ribbons for cosplaying, my costume wig, make-up, baby blankets I had insisted on keeping for my own children, my grade eight graduation class photo.

I wished I owned my own home with an attic. I would put all of these things in the attic. The sort of things you have no room in your life for but can't bear to throw away.

But now I must get ready. I'm seeing my friends from college tonight. They all came down today and we're going out on the town :D

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25