new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Victory Jig
2002, July 10 - 10:46 p.m.

Praise me, I got a job! I start work at the Days Inn tomorrow at 9. I will have to get up at 7, catch the 7:45 bus and I'll get there at 8:50 after one transfer. I got my watch battery replaced to celebrate (well I figured I would need it and such...) and I have my sandwich for lunch tomorrow in the fridge and ready to go. I'm really rather excited about this. It's the first job I'ver ever landed on my own.

You see, my dad talked with my aunt and uncle to get me at Pita Pazzaz back when I was in grade 10. He knew the owner of the hot dog cart I worked at and he spoke on my behalf to Queen's (where he works as a printer) for my co-op. This job is really a big deal to me. I made up my resume, handed in it, called her about it to make sure she read it, had an interview and voila.

Twice the hours and 40 cents more an hour than with Pita Pazzaz. Completely worth it. Now they are all telling me that I can do both. 40 hours a week plus more? Ugh... Do I even have that kind of stamina? I don't think I do, but I guess we'll see.

I feel bad because I didn't apply earlier. I'll only be there for the summer. I'm warming up to the idea of coming back next summer to work. Really, because even though I'd be paying rent anyway, if I were home I wouldn't have to pay for groceries, phone, cable or internet. I'd save more in the long run. So I guess it's worth it to come back next year.

Now what was interesting was that when my new boss asked me how I heard about the job, I told her that a friend of mine worked there. She naturally aske me which one and I said Ella and she said she quit. Well heck. Good 'ol Ella.

Anyhow, I found out later that she found a better job with less hours and more pay. It's too bad we wont be working together, but I'm glad she found a job she'd like better. Apparently Kim works there too. Kim is the girl who encouraged me to go out with Brent as a rebound when Van broke up with me. I like Kim, working with her will be neat.

But anyhow, I'm tired and I have to get up in 8 hours for work.

...work. So happy! ^_^

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25