new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Disappointment
2002, July 29 - 12:42 a.m.

It's always so disappointing to come online and not see any updates to my favorite diaries. But today was full of disappointments.

Work was dreadful. I fought back tears the entire day as I fought through mess after mess. There had been a wedding the day previous and there had been parties in all the rooms that night. I had 17 rooms to do today and about 10 were trashed. Bottles were everywhere, cigarettes and ashes covered the tables and floors, there were crumbs and God knows what else all through the rugs and a general amount of goo on every surface.

We usually finish our rooms around 3. I was there until 5:30 and that was with the help of others making beds for me. Brent had been waiting since 3:15. I felt badly but not too badly. He could have been in my shoes. If I could have I would have been more than happy to change places with him.

Maybe I could have shaved off an hour if the vacuum cleaner hadn�t broken or if I hadn�t of run out of towels and face cloths time and time again (everyone felt the need to use everything) or perhaps if people hadn�t felt the need to steal things out of rooms like coffee mugs, ash trays or even a bloody bible. Maybe if I didn�t have to take 3 runs to the garbage and two runs to the recycling before my final run of the day (the final run is usually the only run of the day.)

Maybe if Pugsy hadn�t kept calling me back to my rooms for minor, minor things!

Maybe, maybe, maybe.

When I got to Brent�s car he was annoyed for having to wait so long. I think that evaporated when I started to cry. I needed that cry and I vented all about my day while wiping the tears from my face. Ella said it would be hard and I knew it would suck but for Sweet Christ�s sake, I never thought it would depress me or stress me out so much! Pugsy was at me all day to hurry up. She kept informing me that I should be done a certain room by now, even if it had been trashed to high heaven. She makes me feel so incompetent and that as well was making me want to cry. I was also hungry because I needed to skip lunch to keep up.

It was without a doubt the most horrible day at work to date.

I also got a peer review back. It was four people reviewing my diary and they totaled 68/100. Well heck. I would have been in the 70�s if I didn�t have any typos. I know I have so many and I try to fix them later but� I don�t get too excited about them. One reviewer felt I hadn�t found my writing voice yet. Perhaps I haven�t as I don�t know what that means. Though my score was low, I am fine with the review as a whole. I found that every person�s opinion was different for everything. I got a 2/5 on design and a 5/5, I got a 21/25 from one and a 14/25 from another. A couple found my writing style interesting, others felt I had no style and that it was boring. Meh. I asked for their opinion and I received it. The one thing I can take away from this for certain is the typo dealie. I can fix that and I am starting by typing my entries out on Microsoft Word. It will catch the errors.

As for my voice and style, if I haven�t developed any such thing then perhaps I will later and if I have then maybe it just wasn�t for them. I thank them for their effort and I shall leave it at that.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25