new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

An old Relic
2002, August 6 - 11:57 p.m.

Rock Star read to me an editorial written by an old battle ax who opposes gay marriage. She felt that if gay marriages were allowed to occur then rabbits would take over the world. No foolin'. She was harsh, rude and irrational in her beliefs and of course when I heard that she had left her e-mail address I had to respond. I told her that from view points of society, science and even religion, her views made no sense. And in closing I said that in her final years she should be examining her own life rather than cross-examining the lives of others.

I was very passionate about this. I get that way when people hate things in the name of morality and God. I am of the opinion that God is a good guy and has better things to do than create a type of people and then condemn them to Hell. I think that if he went to the trouble of making them then they must serve a purpose to humanity just as everyone else does. If men and women were created to be fruitful and multiply then I believe that gay people were meant to not be fruitful and multiply because the world is so damn full already. Nature is saying, "Slow the Hell down!" And there is my scientific point of view. Homosexuality is thus natural and normal and should be accepted as such.

And in the eyes of society, are we all not equal from all walks of life, regardless of race, gender, religion and/or sexual orientation, including the transgendered? What in this old harridan's mind makes any group of people more deserving of certain rights than another group of people?

To be short, I just let her have it. There is some leway to the elderly as they are often products of their times and upbringings-- but that can only excuse a person so far. It certainly cannot condone putting such horrible, opressive garbage in print for all to see. Such a thing does far more harm than it's worth. What is this editorial doing that is worthwhile? Reaffirming free speech. But what is this free speech doing? Reaffirming that oppressing 5 million people in this country is okay. Yeah, 5 fucking million. 10-14 percent of the population is gay. That is around 5 million in Canada alone. 21 million in the States if my math is correct. 26 million people so far...

That old fart's bitching is not going to make homosexuals go away, nor should they. Certainly 26 million people have the right to expect something better out of life than being second class citizens because homophobics like this old biddy can't handle living in a world that practices equality.

We look back in history to when blacks were enslaved and we cringe. We see women who couldn't vote and it seems impossible. I want to see my grandchildren reading through my time and wondering how gay marriage could ever have been opposed. And people like that woman are relics of the past.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25