new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

On August 29...
2002, September 8 - 6:46 p.m.

I wrote this on August 29th, the day after I moved in.

I have moved in to my new home. I can�t even begin to imagine where I should start. I could start with how Aunt Debbie picked me and Brent up or how I had to sit in a lawn chair in the two seater van and how she and I discussed our combined dislike for my father. But that is not where it gets interesting.

Getting into the house was easy this time. Some good soul in the house left the door unlocked. I took a peak around and it was messy. Very, very messy. I was unwilling to believe that this was a normal state of affairs. Apparently it�s not, they�re all moving out. The two people I had met last year are leaving, the girl who moved in during May is leaving and this other guy named Scott is leaving. They had a dispute with the landlord because he didn�t fix anything in the house.

The landlord had a dispute with them because the house was a sty. He wanted them out and out now. They wanted away from him because they didn�t like his ambivalence to fixing things and his new hostility towards them.

I am pretty sure I know where my thoughts stand on this matter. The landlord was late coming in for repairs and he entered a mess and every time he came back, the mess remained and he got sick of it. I think that perhaps he overreacted but overall, a mess is a mess is a mess. The tenants and he are going to court.

Thank god that all of this won't affect me too much. However, there are some issues that need being dealt with. The fridge. Oh god, the fridge. When the other tenants moved out after school they left food in the fridge and then after awhile since the one wasn�t being used (there are two fridges though one belongs to one of the guys moving out) it was unplugged. The food went bad and mould grew and sunk into the insides and the plastic. It stinks and it�s unhealthy. When I first saw it I almost died.

I had the landlord take a look see and he promised that it will be cleaned up on the first of the month no matter what. I plan to get this in writing. I also extracted a promised that the carpet will be shampooed and the taps upstairs fixed. After that I think I will be content to start really living here. I plan on taking over the cable bill, as it is the easiest one with the least amount of responsibility. It�s a static bill that will be equally divided each month no problem. I plan on getting that done today.

I am glad that I won't be moving into the basement. It�s not done yet you see. People are moving in on the first of September and the basement apartment isn�t done! There is an almost finished bathroom with no toilet, an almost finished kitchen with no appliances, two almost finished bedrooms with no carpet and an almost finished living room with no carpet or shelving unit. On top of that, there is no plumbing. I wonder if he really does think he can finish in three days. I hope to god he doesn�t think that the fridge issue is unimportant. The other people in here are moving out on the 31st. and they�re taking their fridge with them.

They�re also taking the shelving unit that had been in my room. It was the closest thing to a closet in my room as it was once a living room. I now must go get a new shelving unit and Aunt Debbie is going to see about a mini fridge for me and Brent will try to bring me lamps. I�m using one of Steph�s right now. Steph moved in the same day as me very soon after Brent and Aunt Debbie left. I was so happy to see her. At least I�m not alone in this madness.

We stayed up til 2 am last night and Fred was over. Fred is Steph�s boyfriend who she met in our class last year. He is staying in another house owned by the same landlord. We watched Marmalade Boy and now Steph is addicted. Bwahahaha. 8 episodes are never enough.

And now we are likely going to give this place a bit of a wash. I washed my walls and took off four pails of dirty waters worth of dirt and grime. I haven�t got it all off but it looks a lot better. I might try to get some more off later, we�ll see how much time I have.

I asked my aunt to say a prayer for me.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25