new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Literacy my ass
2002, October 2 - 11:35 a.m.

So I have a small project to do for Writing for Newspapers. I have to picka topic in the news and do a walk around to see what people think about it. I chose the Grade 10 literacy test.

At first I thought the test was great. No diploma unless you can read, right? Sounds pretty good, doesn't it? Well, has anyone actually seen the test? I have. Just today. What a load of crap. The questions don't test literacy or even comprehension. They test more advanced english skills than that. It wants personal opinions, creative thinking, more than what is nessessary to determine if someone can read or not.

The point is, many students who are not academic can easily fail this test. Academic students who choke during tests could fail as well. The test should be so basic that no one who chokes could fail and no one who hasn't got a strong english background could fail.

I took a literacy test in grade 3 or so. It was a series of sentences that asked me to circle the word tree in the sentence, underline cat and put periods at the end of sentences. If you can follow the directions and identify words, you can read.

Why can't the stupid Tories see that?

Dumbasses.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25