new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Mouse in the House
2002, November 6 - 7:42 p.m.

I am quickly learning how frustrating it can be to be a journalist. When you're interviewing people they talk really fast, then don't want to be quoted when they've finally said something good. They get snarky with you when you ask them to repeat their names or job title for spelling or memory purposes. They expect me to be completely professional and prepared, even after I have told them I am interviewing for a college newspaper. Hello, lady. That is how I am learning, not what I am doing for a living.

I was especially bothered by the teacher today who commented that I hadn't been paying attention when I wanted to double check on the type of committee she was talking about; you know, to get my facts right. Cripes. Now she was once a student teacher who had to go before a class of students and get practical experience. I'm sure she had her share of mistakes and moments of inadaquacy. I guess she is so lost in the world of professional teaching that she can't even see the similarities between us to pay me half a mind and be decent.

My teacher says I'll grow a thick skin. Yeah, I guess so. I don't plan on reporting all my life though.

So apparently there is a mouse in the house. Big Fred has seen it on two occassions. Great. Now, this could have something to do with the fact that no one took the garbage out for the past two weeks and there is a pile in the kitchen and a pile in the back yard. I wasn't home for either of these garbage days but you bet your ass that I'll be there this week, if just to go in, take out the trash and get out.

I said I lived with pigs...oh do I.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25