new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Beneath These Crowded Streets
2002, November 9 - 4:24 p.m.

Sometimes I can't believe I've been writing here for over a year and a half. It's a long time for me to keep with the same diary. I always had paper diaries before and I would fill them up and get this horrible sense of loss when I had to start a new one. I become attached to my diaries. They would stay with me for months and then they would be finished. And now I have this diary that has stayed with me for a year and a half and I wonder...

For starters, am I as open in this diary as I was in my others? Maybe. I wrote a lot of poetry in my other diaries and I would never imagine doing that here. Everyone's poetry sucks for the most part. There are a handful of people in this world that can write poetry properly. I know I'm not one of them so I don't post and thus don't even do it anymore. So, I have shut off a small part of my life because of this diary.

Am I as regular in this diary as in my others? Yes, more regular, actually. It's less work to type and I'm always on the computer anyway. So that part is better.

I've been thinking a lot of Caitlin closing her diary. I can understand why she did it. When too many people, especially people you know in person are reading what you write, it no longer feels personal. That's even more so the case when people barge into your diary uninvited.

So this is a small tribute to Caitlin's Diary, such as it was.

Though no longer running itself, Caitlin was featured in Journals

She got a solid 90 at Diary Reviews

She won the heart of mymichele

I wish I could link my favorite entries of hers, where she would gush about her favorite band, remember her childhood love, explore her feelings about her family and generally amuse me through dry wit. But those entries only exist on her harddrive now; that lucky, lucky harddrive.

It's funny, we spoke so little and communicated almost solely through the diaries. I've never had such a unique friendship. It says something about two people when they can remain good friends without needing to speak a word.

Caitlin, your diary is dead and we'll have to find another way to communicate so completely (we might even become...phone... people), but it was a good run, a wonderful experience and I learned more about you than I though I ever would. Please feel so special and loved that the loss of your diary has made such a big impact on me. Thanks for letting me in.

please sit
we'll take our time
watching the flowers grow
all the friends we've known say goodbye

-Jenn

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25