new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Rapper McGee can go fly a kite
2003, March 4 - 4:50 p.m.

Since when am I not allowed to have an opinion of my own? I voice the opinion that rappers are inarticulate and mumble a lot and I can't understand what they're saying in interviews. I also think that all of their songs sound the same. There is always a lot of profanity and derogatory images of women in their videos while bass pounds through everything. I don't like it. I will never like it and I have no problem saying so.

So this one guy in my class razzes me out for this. Calls me a rap nazi. Nazi? that's a tad extreme, don't you think? I don't have the power to be a nazi, my humble opinion should mean nothing to him in this matter if rap is such a popular and wonderful thing. My one opinion shouldn't be such a big deal. But apparently it is. He just lets me have it in front of so many people in class and all over one comment that I hate rap. I'm allowed to hate rap, anyone is allowed to hate any kind of music, especially if nearly every aspect of it rubs a person the wrong way.

He goes on about it being a part of our culture. not my culture, I say. He says our culture. Non-white culture I am to assume. Because all white people are of course ignorant of anything except themselves and have everything in life. Yes, he said I have everything. What the hell does that have to do with rap? Rappers are the ones who have everything my friend. If they can afford jewelery that weighs more than me, then they have everything.

So he more or less subtlely insults me because I'm white. I'm white, therefore I'm a ignorant ass who has everything. Skin colour does that for you, you know. It magically gives you everything you need in life. Everything you want. In fact, all white people can turn their own shit into gold and use this power to keep minorities down in the economy.

Anyhow, during class, after he takes a break from telling me what an uncultured person I am for not liking rap music, he interrupts the teacher a few times and eventually John snaps a bit. Rapper McGee fights his anger, like you can actually fight a person into not being angry with you.

After class John is talking to Hello Kitty about her portfolio assignment and Rapper McGee interrupts him to tell him he's sorry for interrupting. What the hell? He doesn't get it. So I, still pissed off and bothered by his rudeness, comment that he's interrupting him now. McGee mutters in ym ear that I'm overstepping my bounds.

What?

He steps all over my opinions, yells at me in class, and I have overstepped my bounds? I am so pissed. I really don't like when people tell me what to do or how to feel or what to think. God, I'm mad.

5 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25