new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Modern Interperative Crap
2003, March 6 - 7:12 p.m.

Ok, so last night I saw a modern interperative dance performance. I'm not really into any sort of contemporary art. I gave it a chance this time, I really did. I went in expecting and hoping for some form of artistry that would captivate me. Or at the very least keep me entertained for an hour and a half.

Oh, I was sorely disappointed.

There was a dance with a humourous look at sex and power. At least, that's what it said in the pamphlet. They used two chairs that two two dancer slid around in the entire time like children. There was also a ladder that they used to show off their balancing skills. Goodie. I like seeing how athletic dancers are, but not in such a boring way.

Moving on...

The sexual awakening of boys. Starting with a boy's sister. Yeah. Of course I had to read the pamphlet to learn this but connecting that knowledge with the naked scene was a little disturbing. I also don't enjoy seeing men in tightie whites, nevermind seeing them dance in them.

And then the intermission... Cabaret. Two people with painted white faces, covered in black cloaks and sitting on boxes garbled back and forward to each other in baby talk. IT was supposed to mirror human interaction. The audience loved it. Maybe I missed something? Or maybe they were a pretentious bunch. Who knows.

Finally a long, overdrawn bit on power and war and control. Wheee... It was the worst yet. Not only because it was very boring, it was horribly long to boot.

May I never encounter anything of the sort again. Now, the funny thing is, when I got to the theatre, I was then offered two tickets. I had been informed over the phone that I could only have one. Cripes. But, as I was telling Brent at the payphone in the theatre in front of one of the dancers, he would have hated it. I'm glad he missed it. It was bad enough that I didn't.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25