new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

The Protest
2003, March 23 - 11:01 a.m.

I attended my first protest. It was in Toronto yesterday and was it ever something.

You see, I had only gone to take pictures of it for my portfolio but in then end, Brent and I stayed to march. It was such a feeling of solidarity. What I really liked was the ways that people chose to express themselves. There were people riding bikes

and carriages,

beating drums,

dancing and of course holding and wearing signs and waving flags.

One guy walked around dressed in a Geaorge Bush suit and waves to the crowds with a clear bag of body parts from dolls.

There were teenage boys who ripped off their shirts and danced around in their rollerblades yelling fuck the war. There was a group of 'Princesses for Peace.' They were dressed up in costumes.

We walked past McDonalds and everyone booed it because it was American capitalism. The people in McDonalds looked pretty confused. They were probably wondering, why are they booing us?

The protest ended in Queen's Park and it was covered with protesters.

I know there is a lot of people who are saying that the troops need support. This is support. Stop the war and let them come back to their homes and families. And may casualties be kept to a minimum. I'm certainly not going to hope they do well over there though. That pretty much means killing. The most support I can and will offer them is this: I know you're not there by choice and I sympathize with you. Just try and stay alive.

I do not believe there is a just cause in this whole stupid war. It is not about Iraq''s freedom, it's about Bush wanting control over the oil and if Saddam is outta there, control is what he'll get. He just needed some sort of noble way to say it to America. He has succeded in convincing many, I'm sure but the polls that state over 70% support? Well, those came from CNN, capital of infotainment America.

I have long since stopped viewing CNN as a reliable news source. They're pro war and they let their bias show. They give pro war rallies and support the troops rallies just as much coverage as the anti-war protests when the protests have tens upon thousands of people and the others have maybe a thousand or just hundreds. When the two are side by side, which side of the street are they on? The pro Bush side. When they interview the anti-war side, what do they ask? 'Do you think it's right to cause a violent disturbance?" Pretty much implying that anti-war rallies are bad.

I'm so sick of CNN and they're propaganda. I wish to God that Americans got Canadian news channels. If you ever want to see unbiased news with people delivering the facts without any sort of agenda, this is the place.

Furthermore, our media or government would never tell us to duct tape ourselves into our home.

1 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25