new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

A diary's birthday
2003, April 16 - 4:43 p.m.

It's my brother's birthday today. Fancy that, huh? He's 18 years old.

Come to think of it, my diary had a birthday too. 2 years old. It was on April 10, 2001. And I forgot it.

I feel a little bad about that. So much has happened to me since I've started the diary and just this past year. For example, I completely switched from art to journalism. Big life step. My uncle died; it was then like I had this huge affinity with my cousins who were left behind.

I moved in with my aunt and uncle, more or less for keeps until I'm done college. I have actually lived in 5 different places since I've started writing. My dad's house of anxiety, my basement apartment of rules, my aunt's lovely home, the Stink Hole of Hell and here, in this quiet, happy apartment.

I have worked in a hotel, cleaning up people's messes, I have learned how to clean quickly and efficiently. I have called so many people that I didn't know, whether it be for finding a place to live or for school, and have learned to become comfortable about it.

This year, I've seen good movies (The Hours), read good books (Life of Pi), bought 3 different animes (His and Her circumstance, Fushigi Yuugi, Marmalade Boy), and have encountered an entirely new vision of the world and it's politics from my program. I've grown an awareness that I can't ungrow.

I've been changed and I think I feel good about it.

I had no idea that any of this would happen for and to me when I started a new year with this diary.

I thought I would work for the city as a nursing home receptionist. I thought I was leaving art completely behind, I thought my family troubles were behind me.

All of this was way off.

This year, I believe I will be working at DuPont in the factories. I know art is still playing a role in my life; my highest marks are in the artistic portions of my program. I plan of being a cartoonist; not right away but when I graduate. I can see my family issues are going to stick around for a much longer time; at the very least until Jamie has moved out on his own.

I'm moving in with Brent. My future with him is decided for another year.

But I can see clearly that so many things can happen or change or arise. My future is completely unclear and all I can do is make decisions and record them here.

It's enlightening and unsettling both.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25