new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

The Family Thing
2003, April 22 - 2:15 p.m.

Brent and I had this spat over the holidays. I was tired of him not making an appearance at my family functions. I was tired of them always asking me where is Brent? Why didn't he come?

It gets to be very disheartening when every single time you have to say that he couldn't come. Especially when each time your father never comes either and this time your brother doesn't come and the cheese stands alone.

I don't want to be the cheese. I want someone to stand by me like someone in the world gives a damn about me on the holidays and is willing to make the effort to come.

So we fought about it. Next holiday, we're going to arrange it so that there is no way he can't make it and then we'll see how that goes.

It's so bothersome when my family doesn't think he's serious about me because he doesn't go to these things. Brent thinks they should meet more often than 3 times a year, but that's easy for him to say.

His 3 siblings, brother in law and neice and nephews along with his parents meet every sunday. That's 9 family members I am completely familiar with. His one nephew calls me auntie Jenn. That says somehting.

On my side, Brent is comfortable with my aunt and uncle and knows their two sons on sight. He had visited my Aunt Debbie and Poppie with me. He knows my dad and brother who don't bother being a family to me. That's about it. I need him to be a bigger part of things. I will not melt into his family and forget about my own.

He sometimes just doesn't get it. I have so little in the way of family that it is so important to me that he is there when I get the chance to come together with people who haven't shaken the whole thing off.

*sigh*

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25