new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

He aint Homeless
2003, May 27 - 11:49 p.m.

Jamie found a place to live. It took all Monday to sort the busniess out but it got done.

At first no one answered my calls about apartments for rent and when some that did call back responded the answer was sorry, it's been rented already.

We did get Jamie's bank account fixed. Now before, what he had was a joint account with dad. Dad could take all he liked from Jamie, as he did with me. Jamie wasn't having it, having seen what happened to me and fought back. Now all of Jamie's money, be it from his esate, the government or his job now belongs in his and only his hands.

Making that happen was a little harder than we had originally planned.

We pulled in to Jamie's bank branch at the Bank of Montreal and asked if we could change his account. We're told no, the lady who does that is off for a few days. Now we're a little stunned but because we're young and inexperienced we say ok, and set up an appointment for next week.

Then we get back out to the car and tell Aunt Debbie, who had agreed to drive around on errands and such for Jamie. She was outraged. So she marches into the bank and demands to know what they mean by not providing this service. She says, This is a bank! It is a service you provide, what is the point of being open if you can't provide service?

So they arrange for Jamie to deal with the branch downtown. So off we go.

We get into the branch and the lady there pulls the same thing: oh we're not sure we have someone here to do that today...

Aunt Debbie becomes indignant and her face is poised for anger and the woman changes her mind and skips off to find someone to help us.

So we wait. And wait. And wait some more as we watch this woman run around the bank in a frenzy.

She gets someone to help him and God love her, she sets him up without any photo ID. The kids needs some of that photo ID, he really does. Anything at all.

So two and a half hours later Jamie is free from Dad poking his nose into his money. But he's still homeless.

We head to the grocery store, get Jamie some food because Dad refuses to feed him and we go to Debbie's and try to sort things out. This is where my cousin Christina saves our asses.

She comes by, hears what Jamie is looking for and makes a beeline for the computer to do a search. In 20 minutes she finds a place, sets up an showing with the land lady and that was that. She was my housing God. Jamie moves on the weekend.

Now all that's left is moving the cats, moving Jamie and I can relax. I have already arranged to have the phone at Dad's disconnected on June 2. Right after Jamie leaves so that there is no chance he will be left without a phone for the remainder of his hours with Dad. I have chosen not to inform Dad I am doing this. He is aware I'll be disconnecting the phone when Jamie leaves. He can sit pretty for the first of the month, thinking I've lost my nerve and then whammo. Haha!

I will also be leaving the cat litter box full of poop for him to deal with. What can he threaten me with now? Jamie? The cats? Ha! I feel liberated and almost carefree where he is concerned. Almost.

Though Brent and I had a miffle this afternoon. He is stressed and so am I plus a little pre-menstrual. I got an appology but I'll go more into the details another time. For now, I'm exhausted and I'm hauling my sorry tired ass to bed.

2 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25