new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Hell has Shower Curtains
2003, July 21 - 6:54 p.m.

So today was the day we changed the shower curtains at work. This may sound like a nothing thing to do but I am so sore... I had to take down 14 shower curtains and carry them down four flights of stairs and then carry them all back up when they were clean. Heavvvy. And slippery. And a pain in the ass to put back on.

More like a pain in the back though, that's where I'm feeling it.

I also got called 'the cleaning lady' today by a little boy. Earlier in the week I was referred to as 'just the maid.' You really lose your identity in these uniforms. In fast food, you can maintain a level of personality and a lot of people think you're some punky kid under your, "Can I help you?"

But really, you can see your food being made or your groceries being rung in by cashiers and retail people. Often people leave their dirty rooms and come back to them clean. I know some of them must have the notion kciking around that the room cleans itself or that there are house elves. I felt the same way once, before I started doing this. I thought, "huh...the room is clean. hmm." When I walked into a clean room. when I entered a room for the first time I never considered that it had ben used many times before me and had been an outrageous mess not long ago.

I know now and when people say things like 'just the maid' it kinda gets to me. But when kids see me as the cleaning lady it makes me happy because it shows a little thought process, 'someone cleans the room!'

But on lesser rantiness and much more happiness, I am going to be Catholic's maid of honour! Yay! I am so happy to do this for her and I can't wait to help her with the details and throw her a kick ass bridal shower.

She also needs help writing her vows. Andrew wants to write his won so says she has to because she would feel silly recieting the default vows. she a much more visual person and she needs a verbal person, such as myself, to help. I've been thinking over romantic and touching vows all day while I've been making beds and scubbing tubs.

I can't wait to get right into this!

2 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25