new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Where was the cat when the lights went out?
2003, August 15 - 1:00 p.m.

So... Where were you when the lights went out?

I was doing up a bathroom at work. I had just set my materials down to get to work and out goes the power.

Cleaning a bathroom in the dark can be both fun and irritating. It's fun because you know you can't make everything perfect like it's supposed to be so you can get away with plenty of lazy cleaning.

It's irritating because you can't really see the wet spots on the floor and slipping around a dark bathroom isn't as fun as it sounds.

I had guests bothering me, "When is the power coming back? *exasperated sigh*" It's out all over Toronto sister, whatdya want me to do 'bout it?

It was pretty neat emptying my laundry in the dark and scaring the night laundress, Tara, who had been innocently fumbling through dirty linens in the blackness, praying for the power to come back.

Brent and I spent our dark night at his place where his parents grilled -get this- lobster tails and steak for dinner. This was already the dinner plan from days ago, but how convenient is that? No hot dogs for us. Says Brent's mom, "I wonder what everyone else is eating tonight?"

But the power was on at my aunt's when I got back around 10. Uncle John had the air conditioning on. I had many words with him over this; now I love air conditioning. I think it's just wonderful but in this instance during one of the largest power outages in history -Toronto, Ottawa, Manhatten, Detroit, Cleveland and everywehre else inbetween- it was not the time to be cooling our fannies.

He eventually turned the air down, not off. Cripes. He can be a little selfish sometimes in ways like that.

As for me and Brent's discussion, he got back to me with a reply, after much thinking. He doesn't want to get married yet. Catholic and Andrew's forthcoming wedding is freaking him out.

You see, our discussion was prodded from a comment Brent made to his brother in law. His BIL said that Brent and I were as good as married when we moved in together and it was exactly the same thing. I had argued it wasn't because we hadn't made vows and thus no formal, lifelong committment to each other. Our money was completely separate and if we break up it won't be a legal issue. We are not bound to each other with legal matters.

Brent replied by saying that we could easily break up and move off somewhere after school.

Easily? Right after school? So that got me thinking and that is when I brought on the big talk in the car.

But it all boiled down to Brent not ready to marry. Well, suits me just fine. I'm not ready either!

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25