new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

I take my tips in toothbrushes
2003, August 17 - 6:12 p.m.

Six more shifts and I'm finished at The Ambassador. I'm savouring the thought.

I remember thinking how nice it would be when summer arrived because then I would have a job that ended each day and there would be no assignments, no homework... Now I think, bring on the assignments, bring on the homework! I've exercised my body enough this summer, time to exercise my mind.

But really this job has been good for me; really good. For one I have a stronger motivation to get a good job because otherwise I could be making up rooms the rest of my life.

As well, the women I work with really show me that it's not what you do but how you do it that matters. It's true.

The Days Inn girls were miserable, angry people and working there for the short time that I did was hellish.

But the Ambassador girls make the best of things, they have more unity, they take a certain pride in their work and are more plesant. It's all the same work, but these things made one place far more enjoyable than the other.

One thing today though; very frustrating. The stuid dumb-heads at the front desk allowed three rooms a 4 O'Clock check out. Check in is 4 O'Clock. Out of the three rooms, one was a jacuzzi suite that had been pre-assigned to someone coming in that very day and the other was a massive party suite that takes an hour to clean. Work ends at five, you do the math.

Lucky for me and the unity thing going on, I had help. And in return we were tipped... toothbrushes. I'm not kidding. The guy from the two big rooms gave the other girl and I two electric toothbrushes each.

But while we were waiting for the rooms, Darleen was coughing loudly and rattling her paper so the pople inside would know we were waiting. The doors were open a bit and she saw oppurtunity knock. She said things like, "waiting for these dummies..." and "Don't they think we have better things to do... with our lives?"

I would never say these things out loud near an open door but that didn't stop me from laughing my fool head off. I nearly started crying. I prayed they wouldn't walk out, think I said those things and laughing to boot.

But in the end we got toothbrushes. Weirdest tip I ever got. But neat all the same. What a strange day.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25