new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

The Bad Cheque
2004, October 7 - 4:06 a.m.

Ok, so this is really ridiculous.

To begin with, every month I have $1000 deposited into my chequing account. This covers my rent, groceries, transportation, cat expenses, phone/internet bill and then whatever fun/incidental things I pay for.

I made the request for the money well before the start of the month - well before. So when October 1st rolls around, I worry not. On October 3rd I notice that, hey! Gee whiskers! The $1000 wasn't put into my account! Heck! My rent cheque also hasn't gone through yet! My rent cheque will bounce! Neat!

So I go home and leave a message on Mr. Moneyman's voicemail asking him to get back to me about this small, oh so small problem. And he does call me on Monday, the 4th. He somehow never got the message that I required $1000 this month. Well damn. He assures me the money will be in on Wednesday.

That is not in enough time for the rent cheque to still be good, as it was deposited on October 1st. It will likely go through that very day.

So I e-mail the landlord informing him I have had a "frustrating banking error" and that my cheque will bounce. I tell him I'll give him a new cheque and he informs me he will also require $35 cash for the error.

So he comes and gets those things. So Wednesday comes along and I go to the bank (though closed) and use the machine to check my account activity.

Well, paint me red and shoot the rooster! Not only had the rent cheque I had originally written go through somehow (who knows how; my guess is magic) but the $1000 was put into my account Tuesday! My balance is perfectly normal and is exactly how it should look this time of the month.

I wrote my landlord a new (and now bad) cheque for nothing and I'll likely recieve a lovely fee from the bank.

So I had no idea what I should do at this point. Do I inform Mr. Landlord that not only did I waste his time but that I am incompetent with my finaces? I call Aunt Anne-Marie and ask her advice. The voice of reason.

Since buddy is expecting a bad cheque and a good check from me, she says, and he already recieved $35 for the bad cheque, he likely won't notice.

Oh.

Okay.

I suppose I learned something...

Damn waste of $35. >=/

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25