new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

The Catholic Wedding
2004, October 11 - 9:38 p.m.

Ok, the wedding!

I'm here at Ross's right now, after quite the memorable weekend. It began Friday with the rehearsal. I was a tad late but no biggie. The best man was replaced by the groom's brother. Considering that the former best man backed out last minute and was a real tool about it, this was a good thing.

The new best man is a guy I've always liked, and since he walked me up the aisle and danced with me at the reception, I was pleased about the switch.

The rehearsal dinner was nice. Catholic gave me and the other bridesmaids a really lovely gift. Ross came but was seated at a different table. I felt a little funny about that, just because he was my date but wasn't sitting with me and wouldn't be sitting with me at all throughout the entire wedding proceedings.

Day of the wedding I got my hair done with Hos, Catholic and the other bridemaid and had a blast. It was our last moment with Catholic as a single girl.

The actual wedding was great. The bride was beautiful and the groom was thrilled to be marrying her. Everyone was happy.

The reception was nice too. At the recieving line, Brent's dad kissed my hand and his mom said, "Thank you for everything you've done for Brent, I love you baby." It was a really sweet moment. Brent had a date, who sat with him at the wedding and the dinner. Ross sat with all the other dates of the attendants. Dinner was great, my speech went well, Andrew's speech for his bride almost made me cry...

But the other bridesmaid...! She went up at the last minute and said a few words about being college roomates with Catholic. Now, Catholic's family wanted traditional things for her. No sex before marriage, no living with the fiance, blah blah blah... So the roommate zings them a bit with "And Andrew tried to sneak in a couple times..." which got lots of laughs, but then she said, totally unaware of the implications, "He is kind of grumpy in the mornings." Lots of "oooohs!" and knee slapping. Definitely the most memorable part of the whole night.

Other than my trauma with Brent. See, his date left and Brent proceeded to drink two bottles of wine. I saw him with half a third and soon he was gone. I thought perhaps puking somewhere, but turns out he went on a massive walk.

Ross and I danced in his absence. I got in his lap and we spun around, or rather he spun us around while doing a wheelie. It was fun. Andrew said he nearly cried when he saw us. Wow.

But Brent eventually came back and had a breakdown. Ross had come upon him in the washroom, and in a fluster had nodded a hi at him. Brent left and punched the door on the way out.

When Brent found me he was saying that he wanted to punch Ross in the face and to keep him away from him. He had an antenna that he hit me with, semi-on purpose, semi-drunkenly and in front of his dad. Hos's boyfriend, Drain was massively drunk as well and was prodding Brent a lot. Brent punched him in the stomach a few times, after Drain asked him to. But then it started getting bad, so I took Brent to another room.

There Brent cried and said he had made me miserable the whole time we were together and that I was thinner now because when I was with him, I ate because I was unhappy. He said I was happier with Ross than I had ever been with him. He was mad because of what the MC (his good friend) said about me catching the bouquet (Catholic and I conspired for me to catch it. The MC said afterwards, watch out Ross! And Brent had been right there...) He said he missed me. The whole thing was just horrible.

Then Drain came back and started asking me why I was talking to him. Brent became enraged and began shouting and kicking Drain off the couch. Drain asked him to get up and Brent would have but I held him back... When Hos came and took Drain away I was so grateful.

Eventually the MC came by and I grabbed him and quickly explained everything to him. Being the good guy that he is, he took Brent away and delivered him to his other friends. Brents parents shortly took Brent home. The whole experience was hideous.

Ross and I left shortly after and spent the night in a hotel.

Thanksgiving was yesterday and he spent it with my family, and they all loved him. My dad gave his stamp of approval (hesitant though it always is) and I was so happy he came. It took Brent three years to come to a family function like that. Ross came after three months.

It's back to Toronto shortly. It's been some weekend. I just have no idea where my friendship with Brent stands. He sent me several depressing drunken e-mails... I guess I'll have to wait and see.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25