new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

A Few Rants
2005, September 7 - 11:04 a.m.

I've been thinking about a number of things lately. I tend to let my mind wander and then I move on to rants inside my head. I want to share some of these things.

1. I don't think God has a plan for any of us. My cousin, Shaun, thinks that He does and I disagree. If God has a plan for all of us and we live and die according to His plan, then Ted Bundy only did what he was supposed to do and everyone who died because of a drunk driver was only fulfilling his or her own destiny.

I think God wants us to be good people, to do our best and have some faith. Last time I checked there was this notion of free will going around. We either have that or we're following God's plan. It can't be both ways.

And I've heard the whole "Everything is possible through God" bit but we're not God. We're people and not all is possible through us. We can't be or do all things so out of those two options, I think we make our own choices according to our own plans.

I don't think we're meant to die at any point in time and it has to do with the choices we make in life. Whether it's to eat more whole grains, or whether to join the mob, or whether to have kids, or whether to investigate that lump on your body or whether you decide to have a bite of that bread, which, oops has a trace of that sesame seed oil you're deathly allergic to or even whether or not to sleep in five more minutes on a random day and experience a totally different day a la "Run Lola Run".

I don't think God is a bizarre enough being to decide that someone's fate is to die while choking on a lima bean because she laughed at a Will and Grace joke while eating dinner in front of the TV. Just my opinion.

2. My relationship with food is awesome. I'm at a very good weight and I'm pleased with my body. My regular eating habits seem to maintain my size. Now, I don't eat the greatest foods. In fact, if I want to eat something, I'll eat it. I never deny myself a food that I really feel like eating.

Why I think this works for me is because for one, I never gorge. I'm never aching for a kind of treat. I also wait until I'm hungry to eat. I also make sure that I completely enjoy myself when I do eat.

I'd have more money if I ate out less but eating out is very pleasurable to me. I have a very European 'tude towards food, that's what I've figured out. Euro women, typically, don't have weight problems, don't go to the gym, don't diet, walk more than drive, take long lunches and eat what they please. In general, this is what I do and it's very enjoyable. Every time I eat something it's a fun experience (Unless it's an IBS no-no and that's a different kettle of fish).

I simply don't have the discipline for pre-making healthy snacks and meals and placing them in containers to take to work. I saw so many girls at Bridal Magazine doing that, counting points or calories or whatever. That is such an unhealthy way to approach food. Mentally, I mean. It makes food your enemy. Food is my pal and since I don't abuse it, it doesn't abuse me.

I have been guilted a few times for what/the way I eat, but I believe in doing what A) works and B) makes you happy.

3. Memoirs of a Geisha, the movie. I'm pretty bothered that this story is going to be told like shite. For starters, no Japanese actresses for the main female characters? Are you kidding me? Just because most North American probably have trouble telling one Asian decent from another does not mean it's okay to dis Japan with that kind of blockbuster movie-level ignorance. You've got to be kidding me.

Secondly, they modernized the costumes, makeup and hair. This is a tradition, a profession with roots dating back centuries. It is known for preserving traditional Japanese art! They were modern, these geisha, back in the day, like in 1903.They are not modern now! Gion, Kyoto geisha are walking monuments of traditional Japan. People who read Memoirs (Who will no doubt make up the bulk of the audience) read all about the traditional hair, makeup and kimono in the book. The book had many inacurracies about geisha, but on the style of dress it was on the rice ball.

Thirdly, in the movie trailer Sayuri is screaming about wanting to make her own choices and live her own life. Yeah... right. A) geisha don't speak that way to anyone. It goes against the code of seniority and respect to one's elders. It just doesn't happen. And B) Sayuri never felt that way in the book nor did she behave that way.

Originally it was going to have Japanese actresses speaking Japanese with English subtitles. What's wrong with some artistic credibility? Why modernize something that can't be modern just to try and "Appeal to younger viewers"? Maybe the Titanic shouldn't have sunk because Rose was able to call for help on her cell phone. Maybe a remake of Gone With The Wind should take place in the '90s. What a fun experiment that would be. This is going to be just like that crappy Vanity Fair movie.

Just because it's not telling a story about something familiar and traditional to us North Americans doesn't mean it doesn't deserve proper attention to authenticity. It's not a true story but it's based on a true way of life. The book made errors on the lifestyle and now the movie is making errors on the book. Geisha are intriguing and interesting and they are yet again going to be misunderstood from being foolishly depicted in such a way.

A couple errors can be expected (in any movie where historical accuracy is required) but modernized Chinese geisha is taking it too far.

Argh.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25