new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

The Letter, The Ring, My Family
2005, September 13 - 7:13 p.m.

Oh my God, my ring.

Okay, so I got this letter last night and the handwriting on the envelope was unfamiliar as was the return address. But the town, the rinky-dink town listed at the top left was not unfamiliar at all. Wilma lives there now with her daughter. She and Poppie lived there before he moved back. When I read that I knew right then exactly who this letter was from.

Dear Jendra

I hope this letter reaches you. I tried to find a phone number for you, but was unsuccessful. We got your address from Aunt Debby.

Things were so stressful after the funeral that I didn't get a chance to chat with you before you left. I would love for you to have your grandmother's and mother's ring. I have left it with my daughter in Ajax. I thought it would be easier for you to pick it up at Susan's house rather than try and send it thorugh the mail - a bit safer anyways.

You can call Susan at (Phone number), or me at Sandy's in (Town - Phone number).

Also, can we use your address for Jamie too, for any estate matters or would he rather use his own? Debby only gave us your address - I don't think she had one for Jamie at school.

I do hope this letter finds its way to you!

Sincerely,

Wilma

I cried, though tearlessly, and I had no words. My ring. My ring, that was all I could say. My ring, Oh my God, thank you God, my ring has been found and I will get it back. I will wear it to my wedding some day and I will pass it on to my daughter and I haven't lost it forever and let my family down.

So, of course I called Aunt Debby and wound up getting a much fuller story than the letter provided.

She knew about the letter and so did everyone else. She and my Aunt Terry were hellbound to get it back. It was their late mother's and late sister's and by God, Wilma's daughters were not to inherit it someday.

So, they talked to Uncle Doug, their brother. Uncle Doug is a good man, a sweet man, with a heart of gold and a very unfortunate drinking problem. Day to day life can be a challenge for him with his disease, but he is always well intentioned. It is beyond me why he was chosen as an executer for Poppie's will but so it was, along with Wilma's daughter, Sandy.

Doug was informed of the ring situation and was kept sober for the will duties he needed to attend to. After my aunts' insisting (And likely his own loyalty to his sister and especially his mom) he put a halt to all the proceedings and was resolute that he wouldn't carry on with a thing until A) the ring was produced and B) it was in my possession.

I pick it up on Sunday.

My family really went to bat for me. I shudder at the thought of all the lengths they had to go through to get my ring back for me. They had to head them off at the pass. Go to Ring, Go directly to Ring. Return ring. Do not pass go, Do not collect $200.

And other than my gratitude towards my aunts, I am so proud of Uncle Doug. He did me a great service and it's the best thing he's ever done for me as an uncle. God, as far as what Aunt Debby has done for me in my life, it's a drop in the bucket.

I am so lucky. There is no way I expected to get it back. I had stopped thinking about it because it hurt so much.

Ross said he knew I would get it back. I think he figured no one would keep it from me because it would have been wrong and cruel. He's very optimistic. I am not going to begrudge Wilma anything. She kept Poppie happy all those years and if she has a greedy side, then she must not be a very happy person deep down. And if a person is that unhappy nearing the end of her life, it's nothing to take personally if she doesn't behave in a (for the lack of a more appropriate adjective) Christian way. I completely forgive her. I'm not even mad. I'm getting my mother's ring back and that's all that matters.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25