new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Le Food Poisoning
2005, October 21 - 10:35 a.m.

I think I experienced mild food poisoning a couple days ago. It was gross.

I love the word "gross."

So, I had lunch on this day and it was a normal type of lunch that I eat all the time: Chicken soulvlaki and greek salad. It tasted fine, no complaints, and I went back to work.

Well, 15 minutse into the digestion process I started to feel uncomfortable. I ignored this because I frequently feel discomfort and pain while digesting. However, it didn't continue in a regular way. I started feeling more pain than discomfort and instead of having gas I got nauseous.

So, I went to the bathroom, thinking maybe that would help. Nope. Now, I considered my options in the bathroom while I was washing my hands.

I could:

A. Go back to work and hope for the best.

B. Stay on the toilet and see if maybe I'm just constipated and hope for the best.

C. Throw up because it's inevitable.

Since A. would likely result in C. and B. would proably not help me, I decided to go with C. I loathe throwing up. I really do. I know nobody likes it but I'm just stating that I am with the probable majority.

It wasn't hard at all. I walked back into the stall, bent over, and opened my mouth. My body took care of the rest. I was surprised, impressed and horrified at how thoroughly my body was rejecting my lunch. I convulsed, gasped for breath and involuntarily convulsed again as the entire contents of my stomach abandoned ship.

I hate wasting money, which is how I felt watching my purchased meal flush down the toilet.

And after several more sessions riding the porcelain express I emerged feeling shaky, empty and so very thankful that no one had walked in, heard me retching and jumped to the conclusion I was some kind of indiscriminte bulemic who openly barfs at work. Gross.

As I was walking back to my department in a vomit-induced stupor I noticed I had gotten some vomit on my pants. Oh goody.

Of course, I went home and general consensus in the office was that the chicken souvlaki was the culprit. And so it must have been because how could a greek salad do that or a vanilla latte (the only two other things I had in my stomach)?

So, I got home feeling very uncertain about my stomach stability and came upon Caitlin in the kitchen, who was concerned my ailment was contageous. T'was not a worry. I slept it off and by morning I was feeling fine and I could rule out a stomach virus. So, by then I was sure it had to have been the chicken.

Several people wanted me to inform the people at the greek food place where I had grabbed my lunch.

I didn't have it in me. I felt like I would be accusing them instead of informing, or rather it would sound like an accusation. I hate being a difficult customer or coming off that way. I guess having job experience in serving the general public will do that. It will make you over-wary of being seen as one of those rude hypo-consumer people you hate.

Sadly, I really love souvlaki but it will be awhile before I can eat it again and that stinks because it was a lunch staple.

Between IBS and appendicitis and mild food poisoning, I certianly haven't had a very lucky year with my health, have I?

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25