new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

A Monk's Passing
2005, November 3 - 11:13 a.m.

My cousin Shawn died. I found out yesterday while I was at work. Needless to say I was shocked.

I have two cousins by that name. The one who died was this cousin, not the one who moved to Vancouver and was born-again.

I last saw him at Thanksgiving, less than a month ago, which is what that entry was about. He was in good health and now he's dead.

He had epilepsy and though it's not entirely certain yet, it's presumed that he died from a bad seizure while in bed. His mom noticed he hadn't gotten up, which was unusual for him, and found him in his room. She's feeling horrible. No parent should ever have to bury their child.

He was a loving person. He was kind. He had so much patience. When grandpa died we talked for the first time. I was 15. He listened to everything I had to say and asked questions. He was so open to everybody.

Our last conversation was about love. He said it had been important for him to learn to love everybody. It had been a challenge but it was possible. I said I couldn't do it because I couldn't love mean people. He said that no one was mean, only ignorant. He really was a beautiful human being.

And I'm going to miss him. He touched my life. Being around him felt good. He was a calming force, serene and gentle. It's hard to believe that he's gone.

Likely, he would have accepted his death as a transition or a new journey. I doubt he realized at the time what was going to happen. He once told me his seizures were not painful. That he would think, "Oh, time is stopping again." And then he wuld wake up to find somebody had called an ambulence.

I'll be going back to K-Town this weekend to say goodbye to him. This hasn't been a good year.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25