new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Bad Travel Agent
2005, November 29 - 11:15 a.m.

The boring month of November is almost over. Excellent.

And my birthday is in four days. I love countdowns, as Ross has been noticing lately. "Four days until my birthday!" "29 days until Christmas!" And when our vacation gets settled I'll start a countdown for that one too.

We went to a travel agent yesterday who, frankly, sucked. For one, his English was poor. Not good. I do not want to spend $1,000+ unless I am sure of what I am getting and I am confident the agent understands what I want. I was pretty sure he didn't have a clue.

He kept showing us these cheap, unexciting places. No, I do not want to spend $950 on a shit vacation, I would rather spend $1,300 on a great vacation, though $1,100 is more my budget. Seriously, why waste $950 on something you don't even want? But buddy was convinced we wanted the cheapest options available which translated into drab looking hotels. Bah.

Secondly, and this was a biggie, we said "Wheelchair accessible." Very important otherwise Ross is SOL upon arrival. But yet, that somehow got lost, as the places he showed us didn't indicate accessibility, nor did he bring it up. He pointed to words and phrases like, "beautiful beach" and "attractive rooms" as though that was our concern. We can read the webpage, thank you. Further, those are a given. Obviously, we don't want a dirty beach and gross rooms.

Ross pointed at resorts that caught his eye from a book he was looking at. Buddy didn't look into those resorts at all. We wanted to know the prices for the really nice places and see what the difference was so we could know what price ranges we were working with.

For one place he was like, "There are children's packages and activities," and we specifically said it would be just us and we wanted to find a place with people our own age. Buzzuh?

It was just irritating. I know people who immigrate here have to learn English sometime and somewhere but that doesn't mean I'm going to take a chance with my money and my vacation time and trust in someone who doesn't communicate well in my language.

I mean, seriously, he didn't look into accessibility, he didn't look into the price ranges for the resorts we asked about and all he showed us were dingy looking hotels.

Ross is calling a woman he's familiar with, probably today, and we'll see how that goes.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25