new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Had myself a merry little Christmas
2005, December 27 - 11:12 p.m.

Oh, and how the year is coming to a close! And it looks like Ross and I will be spending the new year in Toronto (Thank God). There was the chance of going to Ottawa but it seems to no longer be an issue. I'm glad because I have to work for a few hours first and so it would be rushed taking that five-hour drive to Ottawa.

There was this horrible shooting in Toronto on Boxing Day. This 15-year-old girl was killed and others were wounded. Another gang-related incident and right downtown on the busiest shopping day of the year. I can't believe how unfeeling some people can be.

Here's the thing, when gang members shoot each other, I get pissed off because it raises the number of homicides in my city and my country. If assholes kill each other that is one thing. But going around and disregarding the lives of others, innocent people/shoppers/children, what the hell?! How can they justify it? Hpw can they say their frigging "respect" is worth more than that poor girl's life?

Now, I know there are poverty issues. I know there are conditions at hand that nurture these kinds of deplorable behaviours... but here is the thing. Theft, assault, general ass-holery. Okay. Those things are not going to destroy someone forever. And there can be causes for it like hunger and fear.

But killing, particularily by-standers? Or rape? Or Abuse? Or any other kind of unneccessary violence that will destory a person, I just don't understand. I don't get it at all.

But enough of that... It's too sad and frustrating to dwell on.

I could talk about Christmas.

My family has this habit of bringing their dogs. I loathe that they do that. I really do. Five dogs on Christmas Day, there were. Between their barking and the TV and everyone trying to speak above those noises, I got a headache. And actually, not that much sympathy either from the bringers of the dogs, or at least some of the bringers of dogs.

It's well known that I don't like dogs. I avoid them. I don't mistreat them or yell at them. I just keep my distance and don't interact. That may have something to do with the lack of sympathy from the potentially offended dog-owning/bringing relatives.

Ugh... and you know when those dogs eventually die, my family are just going to get new dogs, which is worse because I hate puppies that are no longer small but still stupid in the head. Don't I sound like a monster?

Yeah, well, I don't like dogs. They can be nice to look at or watch sometimes. That's it.

My cats were very happy to see me when I got back. Nothing was array, no bodily discharges to be seen. They didn't destroy anything. I was a proud cat owner, I was.

Ross came over shortly after I got back and we exchanged presents. He liked his bowler hat, said he had always wanted one. He liked his stocking too, though now he has a good deal of candy to contend with.

He gave me some very thoughtful presents. Season 4 of Six Feet Under, Donnie Darko director's cut, Soul Calibre III, a necklace, a craft mug and tickets to Cirque du soleil. Each thing was something I really liked and I love that he knows me so well.

We had a very cozy night watching Six Feet Under and playing Soul Calibre. I missed him over the holidays. I really, really did. I kept thinking how much nicer everything would be if he were there.

Christmas with my dad was fun. He and Jamie were in good form. There were lots of presents and everyone was happy with what they got. I got some clothes and a couple gift certificates, a purse and other things. I gave Jamie a Family Guy giftset that he was really happy with.

Debby, her mom and sister were there. Her sister smokes pot. We all had a small toke before we opened presents. It was surreal.

Dad: Here's the thing, Debby's sister smokes weed, so that wil be going on at the house. Is that okay with you?

Me: Yeah, that's fine.

Dad: Hey, wait a sec. Do you smoke pot??

Me: Well, sometimes.

Dad: HAHAHAHAHAHA!

This Christmas certainly did stand apart from all the others, anyhow.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25