new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Hypocrites
2002, February 5 - 7:23 p.m.

Compliments of Barrows Down

My orc name is:
Azdreg the Blood-Axe

My Hobbit name is:
Elanor Hilldweller from the North Moors.

My Elven Name is:
Palancarkaiel

My Dwarf name is:
F�in Marblehands
According to the ancient scrolls of the Red Book of Westmarch
Jennifer was a Diminutive Nazg�l

Neat huh? I made several variations of my name and I decided to go with this one. Whee.

So yeah, I talked to Ella and I'm going to her place on Saturday. I'll be meeting her at 5. We're going to Buddie's. $2 shots and and a lot of gay people. Once again I state, this will be an experience. I'm looking forward to it.

I'm going to Brent's shortly, I want to take a bath first. I'll be drawing his hands this evening and maybe I'll read his fortune. I read tarot cards. I'm a catholic who reads tarot cards. I see nothing wrong with this; they're fun. I don't think God minds at all. He as more important things to worry about than what I do to amuse myself. I don't even think he'd worry.

I've been thinking about what it means to be catholic lately. This is partly in reason because of images and ideas. My teacher has been putting the church down quite a bit. Sometimes it's been justified, the church has it's problems, but other times he's used inaccurate information. Such as his concept of confession.

Confession is one the most beautiful things the catholic church has going for it. Some people don't understand what it's all about and think it's a way for God to punish you, or for priests to judge you or some other such reason. It's not like that at all. I have never felt judged. I have never gone inside a confessional before either. I have always faced the priest eye to eye. Granted, this has made me chicken out a couple times when I got to the really big sins, but all in all it's been a positive experience. There is something very gratifying in humbling yourself to appologize and then being forgiven. One could argue that you can just confess any old thing and be forgiven, but God knows all, sees all. What is the point in trying to trick him? You have to be sorry and admit you were wrong and confess. This teaches forgiveness. That is what it does. It teaches you that when you humble yorself before God and say you're sorry he will forgive you. This is supposed to serve as a model for your own conflicts. Try to forgive. If God can do it, then so can you.

There are the prayers, the Our Father and Hail Mary. Those are not given out for punishment persay. Is it just a coincidance that in those prayers there are the lines "...and forgive us our tresspasses as we forgive those who tresspass against us..." and "...pray for us sinners..."? The 'pray for us sinners' puts all of us on the same playing field, no one is better than anyone, we all deserve to be forgiven., thus if someone wants to be forgiven, forgive.

I think my teacher missed all this when he said that preists would judge you for little things like lying and then make you pray on your 'prayer beads.' He then went on to say tht preists are hypocrites. Some are, certainly, but all of them? Fod god's sake, what does he or anyone else expect of them? They're imperfect beings like all of us. They humble themselves before God and they try to live a good life. Like all of us, they have lapses in judgement. I have never been or felt judged in confession. The priests have always been kind and understanding. They have only ever tried to encourage me to do better next time. They make mistakes too, how could they judge me? Simple, they don't.

I'm sure some people have had problems with this, but those priests, I suppose have lost what confession is all about.

It's really too bad, because that's the sort of thing people like my teacher focus on. Somehow, that sort of negativity is what will set the standard for people like him. I don't expect nor want all people to believe what I believe, hell no. I just want them to see my religion as fundamentally decent. Is that so much to ask? It has for some reason become politically correct to bad mouth the church. If you bad mouthed any other religion, someone would hit you. But spitting on the church is fine. Who are the hypocrites?

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25