new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Have a Cow
2002, June 10 - 12:43 a.m.

I went to Canada's Wonderland yesterday and I had a great time! It didn't start out all that wonderfully though, because I had to spend the night at Brent's in the spare room. It was rather hot and stuffy and I usually do have a hard time sleeping in a strange room and a strange bed. Add that to being under pressure to sleep as much as possible before getting up at 5 am and it equals out to getting a total of zero hours of sleep. Hurrah.

So we travelled there by school bus and arrived at 10:30. Brent's younger sister, Chantel lent me the fourth installment to the Harry Potter series. I have recently started reading these and have been pleasantly surprised. they're very addictive. I read 10 chapters on the bus.

We had a plan for Wonderland; Brent's older sister, Tanya has a daughter (Nadia 6 years)who had weasled her way in her parent's trip rather than going to the zoo with her grandparents. I thought it would be a nice gesture if Brent and I took her for a while and then Tim took her for awhile to give Tanya and her husband, Geoff some time to go on the good rides that Nadia couldn't go on.

Brent and I took her to Kidsville where she went on the Silver Streak. It's a minature Top Gun ride that is slower and more suitable for children. She worried through the whole line (which thankfully, was rather short) but then wound up loving it. We then took her on the Timber Wolf to get soaked and just before it was our turn to go on someone lost something on the ride and they shut it down for 15 minutes.

I had forgotten just how wet you get on that thing.

We returned her to her parents though we missed out on doing one or two things that we had planned on due to lines and a general lack of direction when it came to Kidsville. Tim (Brent's older brother) took her next to go to Splash Works. I always thought he would make a good dad. Very patient, he is. It's good that he took her. Most of us were unwilling to go. Brent calls it a public urinal.

So Tanya and Geoff had about 3 and a half hours to go on fun rides. I went on The Fly, Vortex, Wild Beast, Dragon Fyre, Spinonater, Top Gun, Timber Wolf, Silver Streak, Swing of the Century and... I think that's it. I thought we did well. All things considered, the lines were all pretty short.

I also won a stuffed cow. The first moment I saw this cow I knew it must be mine. I tried for it and lost. then I found Brent and tried to get him to win it for me while I got a slushie. He wound up playing the wrong game and not winning anyway. I subtly asked him to try the other one but he wasn't really into the idea. It dissappointed me and bothered me both. I saw other guys winning their girlfriends toys. I really wanted him to at least try but when I sadly said, no it's ok, you don't have to, he said, are you sure? I knew then he was fully preapred to walk away without me getting my cow. I made up my mind to try again for this cow to show Brent that it wasn't really ok. (I know I said it was, but I'm a girl who says one thing and means another, and I'll admit it. I'm manipulative. I felt he should have known that I was just trying to look as though I was giving him a choice for show and that I really, really wanted the cow.) (Which I did.) Brent came with me and said he'd play against me so that we'd have two chances of winning the cow. It was the sort of game where there was a winner everytime. You squirt water into a moving target. On this try I won my covetted cow. I was very pleased.

He's so precious, my cow is. He's blue and white and had a big dopey but oh so lovable face. He's very soft and quite nice and squishy. I love him and named him Cow. It suits him and no, I don't care to discuss my creativity.

The ride home was rough. It was a school bus so it was very uncomfortable. We all wanted to sleep but school buses aren't really designed to make sleeping easy. There were also many stupid people onboard. Such as this one fat girl who was going on about the white stretch limosine we saw during a stop. According to her, black limos are better because white limos look too much like funeral cars. Yeah. she had also been jabbering about how she 'flipped' on someone. She and her two friends then went on for 15 minutes trying to predict how everone they knew would react to this 'flip.' She also felt the need to tell everyone how much she had talked to people she didn't know that day: the busdriver, the girl in line who was 'like, so pissed!', the poeple who worked in the park... because we all cared.

Falling asleep last night was sweet. After 24 hours of being awake and gallavanting through the park in sandalls that do not fit, I was ready for bed. It was especially nice having Cow with me.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25