new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

The Hidden Condom
2003, April 28 - 1:58 a.m.

I had a long and tiring day today. Brent, his family and I moved our stuff out of our apartments and into the new one.

I must admit, it's going to be a kick ass space. I'm not sure how it happened exactly, but we have pretty nice furniture for students.

Now, my day started early in the a.m. because I never went to sleep. I consider it a new day at around 5 a.m.

Brent had this idea that we should go to bed early and we did, but when I go to bed without being tired, I stay up all night, sitting on my energy. So it was a poor way to begin my day.

I had breakfast with Brent's parents at 7:30 and we hit the road at 8. I tried desperately to catch some Z's in the car but it was no go. I was also in the sun the entire way up.

Now, I love Brent. I think he's peachy keen but the boy can't pack to save his life. He's a pack rat. He can't throw things out, he get emotionally attached to ugly, useless things he never uses. He left many things unpacked.

While he packed up the kitchen stuff, his mom and I cleaned out his closet, what was left in it anyway. It was mostly junk. Useless, untouched garbage that he will never use but yet continues to cart around the province just in case. I threw many things out on the sly.

Not that I'm a monster that throws out his things. I'm harsh with myself too. If I haven't used it at all and it's acting as nothing more than clutter, odds are, it's outta here. I picked up minimalist packing habits in the 3 years since I moved out of my lifelong home. This is my seventh move in those three years. I am almost down to bare essentials and items with only the highest sentimental value. Such as Cow.

But after the three hours it wound up taking to move Brent, he was able to be convinced into throwing away his ratty old desk; its only purpose was to stand there and hold junk. I rejoiced in its departure.

On my part, I threw away a TV and a chair. The TV had this odd feature on it that made you program in every channel you turned to with no possibility of going higher than 13.

The chair was a freebee I got from Dad's work for Art Fundies. I no longer need it and it's ugly as heck.

Moving my stuff, on the other hand took half the time. An hour and a half and it was over. Painless if you will.

Wel, maybe not painless. While moving my dresser, Brent's mom wanted to put stuff in the drawers to make it less clumsy. Out of all the drawers she could have picked, she chose the one with a forgotten condom inside.

I snatched it up quickly and we both pretended as though nothing had happened. Even though I wanted to crawl into a hole and die.

Just because we're moving in together does not mean I want to advertise any further, "Hey! We do it!" It's a truth we all like to ignore.

But that was my tiring as hell day. We got back at 9 and on the way home I foolishly took a nap. I was exhausted and I would have slept well, but I had to go and take a nap. It's 2:15 and I'm awake. Greeeat.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25