new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Cuba's hot hot hot!
2004, March 2 - 12:21 p.m.

I am so sick... so sick that I have avoided making an entry completely because I was afraid I would get tired easily and make a crap ass entry about a trip that was completely not crap ass.

But I'm feeling a bit better so I think I can do this.

My first trip on a plane was awesome. I love planes now. I got the window seat and watching the plane take off was awe inspiring. I couldn't help thinking, it's like magic!

While in Cuba, Brent and I swam a lot in the pools, and tanned by the pools and ate a lot of fries and drank a lot of rum. Cuban rum is the most amazing thing there can be. It's like drinking alcohalic sugar water.

I have lilly white, fair maiden skin. It's all well and good if you're a fairy tale princess but in reality, white skin is pretty useless. I got burned about 4 times. We ran out of sun screen around day 3 and bought some Cuban sunscreen called 'Before Sun' and some aloe cream called 'After Sun.'

On the back it was in spanish but we could determine that the SPF 15 we bought was not directed towards tourists. It said that SPF 15 was for extreme protection and good for children.

The Cuban sun is a harsh mistress and she whipped my ass good. But, I have a pretty sweet tan now.

However, halfway through the week I also got constipated and then after that another problem in the opposite direction. I promise, if you ever want something to put a damper on your vacation, that is it.

But the nastiness didn't stop me from trying out snorkling. Turns out I'm alergic to salt water. And wouldn't you know it, the ocean is saltier than McDonald's french fries. Freedom fries. *snort* You know what I mean.

After bathing away the ocean and waiting the rash out for about five hours I was set to have fun again.

We took this three wheel taxi to the village. The taxi was a scooter with a back seat and a roof. It was a lot of fun to ride in. We also went horseback riding; my first time on a horse. It makes me think that later in my life I will want to take up horseback riding. When I have the money.

We bought a lot stuff; art, cigars and alcohal. Rum is about $7 American. The best rum in the world is $7 American. Life is good. I bought about 30 cigars - all gifts for people who smoke. I even got my brother some. I am hoping he can get used to the quality of cuban cigars and then find cigarettes distateful. I can only hope.

Anyhow, coming home was sad and depressing. The plane ride back had a crappy movie and I got sick. Some jerk also got the window seat and he was kind of obnoxious and nervous. Crossing himself during the take-off. Nice touch.

I'll be putting my pictures up soon. We took a bunch.

*sigh* Now back to real life. The colleges will likely be going on strike and I have to keep my ears open for news and information about what the hell we're supposed to do in the meantime.

Hasta luego!

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25