new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

All in the Family
2002, January 5 - 2:43 a.m.

I leave on Sunday, very early :(

My day started out fine, I got up a little past noon and hauled my sorry ass to the bank. I made a frugal budgetting decision and realized later that I didn't take out enough money from the 'ol savings to cover my semester. So come reading week I'll be back and with a $100 withdrawl fee >;/

I called my Poppie today. He's sick. Not a cold and not like a stroke or cancer or anything. He's old. It depressed me, it really did. He's the last grandparent I have. I really do love him.

He's really eccentric. He's into cars. He's had three or four as long as I've known him. My mom grew up being driven around in convertables and thunderbirds. He's always telling stories; sometimes true, sometimes not, sometimes obviously not. I have no idea what he did for a living. He either worked at Dupont, was a salesman, was a spy, was in the secret service or went to war. (Poppie: "I was flying over germany in doubya doubya 2 and I landed surrounded by nazi soldiers." "Well, then what happened?" "Well they shot me 50 times" "Then what happened??" "Well, I died.")

Great guy. Used to scare the bejesus out of his kids when they were growing up. He'd stand in the darkness and then move ever so slightly and his girls would whisper to each other, "Is he there?" "I don't know" "I think I saw him move!" "There it is again!" And then he'd jump out and scare them. To his grandkids, he would grab us as we walked by and oull us into his chair and tickle us til Grammie would say "Ah, Jack, leave them be."

I miss being a kid. Not just the utter lack of responsibility but the family. Everyone that was important to me was alive. Everyone got along. I had a great sense of family. People are either dead or not talking anymore. Someday I want that sense of family back.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25