new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Two Sad Thumbs Up
2002, December 29 - 11:28 a.m.

I saw Star Trek Nemesis last night. If you don't want to know what happens, then stop reading because I'm going to talk about it.

Ok, now I love Star Trek TNG. I think it's awesome - way better than the first one and any other star trek out there. I love the characters. They are what make the movie for me. I have my favorites: Captain Picard, Deanna Troy and Warf... I don't know if I got the spellings right on those... I don't care though because I am not the sort who would go to a Star Trek convention so little things like that don't make my mind explode.

But back to favorites... Data is the one I love, always has been. If Data was in an episode I was happy. If he was part of the main plot or a really cool subplot, I was happier still. I love his quest for becoming human, I love how he keeps trying to be something he can never be, simply becausae he has the ability to keep trying. I love his childish naiveity and his wisdom that will come out of nowhere and shock you. I love how useful he is to the Enterprise and how his calculations have often saved the day.

And now they no longer have him. I cannot believe he blew up. In a heroic way, yes. In a sentimental way, yes. Poetic, yes. Beautiful, yes. So that was a great moment for his character's valour. But now his existance is gone and I can't even speculate that he's gone to a better place because he is an android.

I know it is ridiculous to be so upset.

Data has been my favorite television character since I was 10 years old. I've seen almost every episode of Star Trek TNG and all the movies about them. I was not prepared for Data to go.

I'm not kidding when I said I burst into tears after I saw the explosion. I tried to hold them back but big, fat tears kept falling off of my face. When Brent and I drove out of the parking lot I lost the composure I had to force upon myself when we left the theatre and again I burst into tears.

I was embarrassed about my absurd grief. I really was. Brent thought it was funny but he humoured me.

The one thing that I'm hanging on to is that duplicate android that Data put his memories into. Maybe with that they can rebuild Data... If it were a person I would let it go better I think. But Data was never supposed to die, not in my eyes.

Other than that horribly traumatic event though... it was an excellant movie. Good story, good script, good acting (of course) and it was pure Star Trek. Two very sad thumbs up.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25